Home Iowa Elections 2026 Chris Mcgowan

Chris Mcgowan

Republican candidate · 2026 general election · Iowa

CM

Chris Mcgowan

Republican

Races

Campaign finance

FEC data through Jun 30, 2026. Covering the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Possibly out of date. last refreshed 2026-08-20

The 2026 cycle at a glance

Total receipts
$679,844
Everything the campaign took in
Individual contributions
$562,524
Itemized and unitemized split not reported
PAC and other committees
$116,500
Received from political committees
Campaign spending
$350,993
Total disbursements
Cash on hand
$328,850
At the end of the reporting period

Where the money came from

These categories divide total receipts of $679,844 exactly once, so they add back up to the reported total.

Receipts by funding category for the 2026 cycle
Source Amount Share of receipts
Individual contributions $562,524 82.7%
PAC and other committee contributions $116,500 17.1%
Party committee contributions $0 0.0%
Candidate self-funding $0 0.0%
Loans $0 0.0%
Other receipts, including transfers $820 0.1%
Total receipts $679,844 100%

Financial position

Cash, debt, refunds, loans, and transfers as reported through Jun 30, 2026 for the 2026 cycle. These are factual reported values, not a judgement about whether a campaign is healthy, viable, or strong. Independent expenditures are never added to or subtracted from any of them: that money was never the campaign's.

Reported financial position for the 2026 cycle
Measure Amount
Cash on hand at coverage end $328,850
Debts and obligations owed by the committee $0
Debts and obligations owed to the committee Not reported
Contributions refunded to individuals $3,000
Contributions refunded to committees $0
Transfers received from other authorized committeesAlready raised money moving between the candidate's own committees, not new fundraising. $0
Transfers made to other authorized committees $0
Repayments of candidate loans $0
Repayments of other loans $0

Calculated from the reported values

Each row below is arithmetic MyRepTracker performed on the values above. Where the FEC published the figure itself, the row says so and no calculation was made.

Values calculated from the reported financial position, with the formula for each
Measure Amount How it was produced
Contributions net of refunds $676,024 Calculated as individual + committee + party + candidate contributions, minus contributions refunded to individuals and committees.
Operating expenditures net of offsets Not reported An input this calculation needs is not published by the source behind this record.
Outstanding candidate loans $0 Calculated as loans received from the candidate minus repayments of those loans.
Other outstanding loans $0 Calculated as other loans received minus repayments of those loans.
Total contributions refunded $3,000 Calculated as refunds to individuals plus refunds to committees.

Change since the previous filing

Both columns come from committee C00909788, so the two periods are comparable. A change is the difference between what 12P 2026 reported and what Q2 2026 reported, and the direction is stated in words rather than shown only as a sign. 12P 2026 reported through May 13, 2026 and Q2 2026 through Jun 30, 2026.

Financial position at the two most recent controlling filings of committee C00909788
Measure 12P 2026Reported through May 13, 2026 Q2 2026Reported through Jun 30, 2026 Change
Cash on hand at period end $375,342 $328,850 Down $46,492
Debts owed by the committee $17,042 $0 Down $17,042
Contribution refunds in the period $0 $0 No change

Cash compared with one period's spending

Cash on hand of $328,850 set beside the $89,712 this campaign spent during Q2 2026, through Jun 30, 2026, which is 3.7 times that period's spending. This is a ratio between two reported numbers over one named period. It is not a forecast of how long the money will last, and campaigns do not spend evenly across a cycle.

Outside spending

Independent expenditures are spending by other organizations that is not coordinated with the campaign. This money was never received or controlled by Chris Mcgowan. Supporting and opposing spending are kept apart rather than combined into one number, and neither is added to campaign receipts.

Spent supporting

$172,669
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

Spent opposing

$0
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

What the money was spent on

These spending categories were produced by taxonomy spend-1.2 and the current rules are spend-1.3, so they are withheld until this record is refreshed.

Political committees that contributed directly

Money received by the authorized campaign committee from PACs and other political committees. This is not outside spending.

This total will usually differ from the PAC figure in the summary above. The summary is what the campaign reported receiving in total; this ranking adds up the individual contributions that were itemized, which is a different record made at a different time. Neither is a correction of the other, and the gap is not an error in either one.

All 34 shown $134,000 total

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Aug 16, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Political committees ranked by direct contributions
Rank Committee Amount Share Transactions Last activity
1 THE EYE OF THE TIGER POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00467431 $10,000 7.5% 2 Jun 8, 2026
2 AMERICAN REVIVAL PAC C00639229 $10,000 7.5% 2 Mar 24, 2026
3 SIOUXLAND ETHANOL LLC PAC C00658831 $10,000 7.5% 2 Aug 19, 2025
4 BUILD POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF HOME BUILDERS (BUILDPAC) C00000901 $5,000 3.7% 1 Jun 23, 2026
5 AMERICAN BANKERS ASSOCIATION PAC (BANKPAC) C00004275 $5,000 3.7% 1 Mar 10, 2026
6 NATIONAL AUTOMOBILE DEALERS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00040998 $5,000 3.7% 1 May 19, 2026
7 THE HAWKEYE PAC C00379479 $5,000 3.7% 1 Jun 25, 2026
8 GROWTH ENERGY PAC C00475665 $5,000 3.7% 1 May 26, 2026
9 FIRST IN FREEDOM PAC C00540146 $5,000 3.7% 1 Mar 17, 2026
10 MR. SOUTHERN MISSOURIAN IN THE HOUSE PAC C00563726 $5,000 3.7% 1 Feb 23, 2026
11 ELECTING MAJORITY MAKING EFFECTIVE REPUBLICANS PAC C00592089 $5,000 3.7% 1 Nov 20, 2025
12 BUCKEYE LIBERTY POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00693796 $5,000 3.7% 1 Dec 11, 2025
13 RAPTOR PAC C00749481 $5,000 3.7% 1 Feb 18, 2026
14 LASTING INVESTMENTS STRENGTHENING AMERICA PAC C00764886 $5,000 3.7% 1 May 14, 2026
15 WORKING FOR OHIO C00783167 $5,000 3.7% 1 Mar 18, 2026
16 CROSSPARTISAN PAC II C00786202 $5,000 3.7% 1 Mar 26, 2026
17 SCALISE FOR CONGRESS C00394957 $4,000 3.0% 2 Jun 5, 2026
18 JIM JORDAN FOR CONGRESS C00416594 $4,000 3.0% 2 Dec 11, 2025
19 RVFPAC C00689208 $4,000 3.0% 2 Jun 30, 2026
20 AMERICAN PHYSICAL THERAPY ASSOCIATION PHYSICAL THERAPY POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (PT-PAC) C00012880 $2,500 1.9% 1 Mar 23, 2026
21 CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA PAC (US CHAMBER PAC) C00082040 $2,500 1.9% 1 Dec 19, 2025
22 FASPAC FAREWAY STORES INC PAC C00331686 $2,500 1.9% 1 Mar 13, 2026
23 AMERICA'S FIRST PAC C00524314 $2,500 1.9% 1 May 19, 2026
24 LAND OF OPPORTUNITY PAC C00607721 $2,500 1.9% 1 Dec 15, 2025
25 HOUSE CONSERVATIVES FUND C00326439 $2,000 1.5% 1 Mar 25, 2026
26 EMMER FOR CONGRESS C00545749 $2,000 1.5% 1 Nov 20, 2025
27 MIKE JOHNSON FOR LOUISIANA C00608695 $2,000 1.5% 1 Feb 6, 2026
28 SIX PAC C00770255 $2,000 1.5% 1 Mar 31, 2026
29 JOE MITCHELL FOR CONGRESS C00918979 $2,000 1.5% 1 Mar 31, 2026
30 DR. BRIAN BABIN FOR CONGRESS C00553859 $1,000 0.7% 1 Apr 24, 2026
31 BIG IDEAS CREATE EXCELLENCE PAC C00765644 $1,000 0.7% 1 Mar 31, 2026
32 REPUBLICANS UNITED TO DEFEND YOU PAC C00823351 $1,000 0.7% 1 Dec 31, 2025
33 MOORE FOR WEST VIRGINIA, INC. C00828947 $1,000 0.7% 1 Jun 10, 2026
34 BNSF RAILWAY COMPANY RAILPAC (BNSF RAILPAC) C00235739 $500 0.4% 1 Mar 16, 2026

Organizations spending independently

Supporting Chris Mcgowan

All 3 shown $172,669 total

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Aug 16, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Organizations ranked by independent spending supporting this candidate
Rank Committee Amount Share Transactions Last activity
1 AMERICAN MISSION C00916692 $103,970 60.2% 3 May 19, 2026
2 CONSERVATIVES FOR AMERICAN EXCELLENCE INC. C00835967 $59,980 34.7% 1 May 20, 2026
3 IOWA ALWAYS PAC C00911099 $8,719 5.0% 1 Feb 11, 2026

Opposing Chris Mcgowan

No opposing independent expenditures are reported for this cycle.

What that outside spending purchased

Each independent expenditure carries a short description the spending committee wrote, and these categories are those descriptions sorted under taxonomy outside-1.0. Spending supporting Chris Mcgowan and spending opposing them are broken down separately and never combined, and every share below is a share of that one direction's total.

The largest category is usually "Advertising, medium not specified". That is not a leftover: it is spending the committee described only as a media buy or as advertising, without saying whether it aired on television, ran online, or arrived in the mail. MyRepTracker reports what was filed rather than assigning it a medium.

Supporting Chris Mcgowan

Independent spending supporting this candidate, by reported purpose for the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Purpose Amount % Share Transactions
Direct mail $103,970 60.2% 3
Advertising, medium not specified Reported as a media buy or as advertising, with no medium named. $59,980 34.7% 1
Phone calls and text messages $8,719 5.0% 1
Classified $172,669 100.0%
Unclassified filing descriptions $0 0.0%
Total independent spending $172,669 100% 5

Opposing Chris Mcgowan

No independent expenditures in this direction are reported for this cycle.

Who the committees behind this money were

Every committee here is placed by the registration it filed with the FEC for the 2026 cycle: its designation, its committee type, and the organizational form it reported. That is the FEC's own record and involves no judgement by MyRepTracker, so this covers every itemized dollar. A committee's registration can change between cycles, and each cycle is judged by its own.

Contributed to Chris Mcgowan

Committees itemized $134,000 in contributions to this campaign.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committee Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Leadership PACs $60,500 45.1% 14 16
Trade association PACs $22,500 16.8% 5 5
Non-connected committees $19,500 14.6% 4 5
Other candidates' committees $16,000 11.9% 7 9
Corporate PACs $13,000 9.7% 3 4
Membership organization PACs $2,500 1.9% 1 1
Itemized total for this direction $134,000

Spent supporting Chris Mcgowan

Committees itemized $172,669 in independent spending supporting Chris Mcgowan.

Independent spenders supporting this candidate, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committee Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Non-connected committees $172,669 100.0% 3 5
Itemized total for this direction $172,669

What interests those committees advance

The FEC publishes no industry or interest field, so unlike the section above this one is a claim MyRepTracker makes. A committee is placed here only when there is a document behind the claim that a reader can open: its own statement of organization, its own published mission statement, or a named third party. Every assignment carries that document on the committee's own page. A committee's name is never evidence of anything.

Categorized is not the same as reviewed. Most of these sectors were assigned by machine from the committee's own filing rather than read by a person. Each committee's own page says which of the two its assignment is, and names the document behind it either way.

Coverage is partial on purpose, and the part that is not covered is shown at full size rather than left out. Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees are excluded outright: their giving is an officeholder's or a party's decision, so no interest label describes it. Categories are taxonomy interest-1.7.

Contributed to Chris Mcgowan

Committees itemized $134,000 in contributions to this campaign. $76,500 of that came from leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees, which are not interest groups. Of the remaining $57,500, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $20,000 and committees not yet categorized account for $37,500.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Interest Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Automotive Transportation $5,000 8.7% 1 1
Commercial banking Finance, insurance, and real estate $5,000 8.7% 1 1
Construction Construction $5,000 8.7% 1 1
Renewable energy Energy and natural resources $5,000 8.7% 1 1
Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees Not part of the base the shares beside it are taken over. $76,500 Not applicable 21 25
Committees not yet categorized $37,500 65.2% 9 11
Base the shares are taken over $57,500 100%
Itemized total for this direction $134,000

Spent supporting Chris Mcgowan

Committees itemized $172,669 in independent spending supporting Chris Mcgowan. Of that, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $163,950 and committees not yet categorized account for $8,719.

Independent spenders supporting this candidate, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Interest Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Pro-Republican Party Ideological and single-issue $163,950 95.0% 2 4
Committees not yet categorized $8,719 5.0% 1 1
Base the shares are taken over $172,669 100%
Itemized total for this direction $172,669

Last-minute contributions reported before an election

In the days just before an election, a campaign must tell the FEC within 48 hours about any contribution or loan of $1,000 or more. These notices arrive faster than the regular reporting schedule, and the same money is reported again in the report covering those days. Nothing here is added to receipts: it is a preview of money the ordinary reports will carry, not money beside them.

Reported on notices

$10,500
Across 3 notices, received May 14, 2026 to May 27, 2026

Still only provisional

$0
Every notice is now covered by a regular report

The most recent notice was filed on May 28, 2026. A notice stops being the only record of its money once a regular report covers the same days; those are marked reconciled below and the amounts appear in Chris Mcgowan's reported totals through the ordinary schedule.

48-hour notices filed for the 2026 cycle, newest first
Filed Amount Entries Covers State Filing
May 28, 2026 $7,500 2 May 27 to May 27, 2026 Covered by a regular report FEC filing ↗
May 24, 2026 $1,000 1 May 22 to May 22, 2026 Covered by a regular report FEC filing ↗
May 16, 2026 $2,000 2 May 14 to May 14, 2026 Covered by a regular report FEC filing ↗

Where the individual money was reported from

Contributions from individuals that the campaign itemized, grouped by the state each contributor gave as their address. Contributions of $200 or less in aggregate are not itemized and carry no address, so they are not here at all. the aggregate totals $634,039, more than the $562,524 this campaign reported from individuals and from transfers by its other authorized committees

What kind of place it came from

Itemized individual contributions by kind of place, 2026 cycle
Kind of place Amount Contributions Share
States and the District of ColumbiaContributors who gave an address in one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia. $634,039 433 Not counted

Places, largest first

Top 10 of 20 places shown as bars. Every place is in the table below.

  • Iowa this campaign's state $289,016
  • South Dakota $231,059
  • Florida $23,010
  • Minnesota $21,495
  • California $15,708
  • Colorado $15,561
  • Mississippi $8,328
  • Nebraska $8,000
  • Tennessee $7,000
  • Wisconsin $3,643
Every place with itemized individual contributions reported for the 2026 cycle
Place Amount Contributions Share
Iowa this campaign's state $289,016 233 Not counted
South Dakota $231,059 123 Not counted
Florida $23,010 9 Not counted
Minnesota $21,495 10 Not counted
California $15,708 10 Not counted
Colorado $15,561 10 Not counted
Mississippi $8,328 4 Not counted
Nebraska $8,000 10 Not counted
Tennessee $7,000 2 Not counted
Wisconsin $3,643 3 Not counted
Michigan $2,957 6 Not counted
Arizona $1,561 3 Not counted
Georgia $1,041 1 Not counted
Arkansas $1,000 1 Not counted
District of Columbia $1,000 1 Not counted
Illinois $1,000 1 Not counted
Washington $1,000 1 Not counted
Maryland $620 2 Not counted
Missouri $520 1 Not counted
New York $520 2 Not counted
Reported with a place $634,039 433 Not available

Contributions are transactions, not people: one contributor giving every month is counted once for each contribution. No contributor's name, address, employer, or occupation is stored or shown anywhere on this site.

  • The shares are withheld because the aggregate does not fit inside what this campaign reported taking in. The amounts below are shown as the FEC published them.

How this compares

Compared with U.S. House campaigns in Iowa, 2026 cycle: 30 campaigns with a complete Federal Election Commission record for the cycle. This is a position in that group, not a score, a grade, or a judgement about the campaign.

Total receipts

Everything the authorized campaign committee took in for this cycle, including contributions, loans, and transfers.

  • This campaign $679,844
  • Cohort median $168,072
Total receipts for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Iowa, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $679,844
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$26,117
Median$168,072
75th percentile$1,117,087
Highest in the cohort$10,217,845
Campaigns counted 30

20 of the 30 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 67th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Share of receipts from political committees

Direct contributions from PACs and other political committees as a share of total receipts. Campaigns reporting no receipts at all have no share and are left out of this measure.

  • This campaign 17.1%
  • Cohort median 4.3%
Share of receipts from political committees for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Iowa, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign 17.1%
Lowest in the cohort0.0%
25th percentile0.1%
Median4.3%
75th percentile13.6%
Highest in the cohort53.5%
Campaigns counted 29

22 of the 29 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 76th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Cash on hand

The balance reported at the end of the coverage period. Campaigns report at different times, so this compares balances as of each campaign's own coverage end.

  • This campaign $328,850
  • Cohort median $10,955
Cash on hand for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Iowa, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $328,850
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$415
Median$10,955
75th percentile$328,850
Highest in the cohort$6,749,491
Campaigns counted 30

22 of the 30 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 73th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending supporting

Independent expenditures by other organizations supporting the candidate. This money was never received or controlled by the campaign.

  • This campaign $172,669
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending supporting for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Iowa, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $172,669
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$329,017
Campaigns counted 30

27 of the 30 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 90th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending opposing

Independent expenditures by other organizations opposing the candidate, not coordinated with any campaign.

  • This campaign $0
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending opposing for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Iowa, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $0
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$702,696
Campaigns counted 30

0 of the 30 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 0th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Every comparison is drawn from one two-year cycle and one office. Only campaigns whose FEC record for that cycle is complete are counted; the rest are reported beside the cohort and are never counted as zero. One authorized committee is counted once however many candidacies report it, so where a candidate's committees are all reported by another FEC record, that record supplies the figures for both. A campaign is never compared with another cycle, with a career total, or with a candidate for a different office.

What these numbers mean

Receipts are not the same as contributions
Total receipts include everything the campaign took in, such as contributions, loans, and transfers. Contributions are only the money given by people and committees.
Direct contributions are not outside spending
A direct contribution is money received by the campaign's own authorized committee. An independent expenditure is money another organization spent on its own, without coordinating with the campaign. The Federal Election Commission treats these as different activities, and so does this page.
The organizations named here are political committees
Direct rankings count what one political committee gave to a campaign; outside-spending rankings count what a committee spent independently. A separate conduit section groups individual contributions only when the campaign's memo record supplies a registered conduit committee's FEC ID. It never attributes donors to employers or interest groups, and it never exposes contributor names. Sites using broader attribution rules may therefore report different organization totals.
A cycle may be only partly reported
Filings arrive throughout a two-year cycle. A current cycle shows only what has been filed and processed through the coverage date shown above, so it is not comparable with a finished cycle.
This view is cycle specific
It covers the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Source: Federal Election Commission ↗. MyRepTracker ingests FEC records directly and does not add its own influence, risk, or corruption score.