Home Florida Elections 2026 Scott Franklin

Scott Franklin

Republican candidate · 2026 general election · Florida

Photo of Scott Franklin

Scott Franklin

Republican

Currently serving in the U.S. House District 18.

Races

Campaign finance

FEC data through Jul 29, 2026. Covering the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Every stored cycle for Scott Franklin is on their legislator profile →

The 2026 cycle at a glance

Total receipts
$850,000
Everything the campaign took in
Individual contributions
$366,545
Itemized and unitemized split not reported
PAC and other committees
$377,500
Received from political committees
Campaign spending
$371,131
Total disbursements
Cash on hand
$960,764
At the end of the reporting period

Where the money came from

These categories divide total receipts of $850,000 exactly once, so they add back up to the reported total.

Receipts by funding category for the 2026 cycle
Source Amount Share of receipts
Individual contributions $366,545 43.1%
PAC and other committee contributions $377,500 44.4%
Party committee contributions $0 0.0%
Candidate self-funding $0 0.0%
Loans $0 0.0%
Other receipts, including transfers $105,955 12.5%
Total receipts $850,000 100%

Financial position

Cash, debt, refunds, loans, and transfers as reported through Jul 29, 2026 for the 2026 cycle. These are factual reported values, not a judgement about whether a campaign is healthy, viable, or strong. Independent expenditures are never added to or subtracted from any of them: that money was never the campaign's.

Reported financial position for the 2026 cycle
Measure Amount
Cash on hand at coverage end $960,764
Debts and obligations owed by the committee $298,500
Debts and obligations owed to the committee Not reported
Contributions refunded to individuals $3,800
Contributions refunded to committees $0
Transfers received from other authorized committeesAlready raised money moving between the candidate's own committees, not new fundraising. $82,332
Transfers made to other authorized committees $20,000
Repayments of candidate loans $91,500
Repayments of other loans $0

Calculated from the reported values

Each row below is arithmetic MyRepTracker performed on the values above. Where the FEC published the figure itself, the row says so and no calculation was made.

Values calculated from the reported financial position, with the formula for each
Measure Amount How it was produced
Contributions net of refunds $740,245 Calculated as individual + committee + party + candidate contributions, minus contributions refunded to individuals and committees.
Operating expenditures net of offsets Not reported An input this calculation needs is not published by the source behind this record.
Outstanding candidate loans -$91,500 Calculated as loans received from the candidate minus repayments of those loans.
Other outstanding loans $0 Calculated as other loans received minus repayments of those loans.
Total contributions refunded $3,800 Calculated as refunds to individuals plus refunds to committees.

Change since the previous filing

Both columns come from committee C00742247, so the two periods are comparable. A change is the difference between what Q2 2026 reported and what 12P 2026 reported, and the direction is stated in words rather than shown only as a sign. Q2 2026 reported through Jun 30, 2026 and 12P 2026 through Jul 29, 2026.

Financial position at the two most recent controlling filings of committee C00742247
Measure Q2 2026Reported through Jun 30, 2026 12P 2026Reported through Jul 29, 2026 Change
Cash on hand at period end $945,704 $960,764 Up $15,059
Debts owed by the committee $298,500 $298,500 No change
Contribution refunds in the period $3,800 $0 Down $3,800

Cash compared with one period's spending

Cash on hand of $960,764 set beside the $7,186 this campaign spent during 12P 2026, through Jul 29, 2026, which is 133.7 times that period's spending. This is a ratio between two reported numbers over one named period. It is not a forecast of how long the money will last, and campaigns do not spend evenly across a cycle.

Outside spending

Independent expenditures are spending by other organizations that is not coordinated with the campaign. This money was never received or controlled by Scott Franklin. Supporting and opposing spending are kept apart rather than combined into one number, and neither is added to campaign receipts.

Spent supporting

$0
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

Spent opposing

$0
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

What the money was spent on

These categories divide $253,664 of itemized spending across 460 transactions, through Jul 29, 2026. That subtotal covers the FEC's published operating-expenditure records, which do not include transfers, loan repayments, refunds, or contributions the campaign made, and is 68.3% of the $371,131 in total disbursements reported for the 2026 cycle. Every share below is a share of that subtotal and never of total spending. Purposes were classified under taxonomy spend-1.3.

The difference between that subtotal and total disbursements is spending reported without itemization, which cannot be categorized.

Itemized spending by reported purpose for the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Purpose Amount % Share Transactions
Administration, salary, and overhead $44,743 17.6% 269
Unclassified filing descriptions Spending whose reported purpose could not be placed in the taxonomy. It is counted, not guessed at. $43,826 17.3% 90
Travel $41,994 16.6% 35
Legal, accounting, and compliance $40,317 15.9% 16
Events $39,308 15.5% 34
Fundraising and solicitation $34,091 13.4% 5
Technology and digital services $7,612 3.0% 7
Campaign materials $1,773 0.7% 4
Classified $209,838 82.7%
Unclassified filing descriptions $43,826 17.3%
Itemized spending categorized here $253,664 100% 460

Political committees that contributed directly

Money received by the authorized campaign committee from PACs and other political committees. This is not outside spending.

This total will usually differ from the PAC figure in the summary above. The summary is what the campaign reported receiving in total; this ranking adds up the individual contributions that were itemized, which is a different record made at a different time. Neither is a correction of the other, and the gap is not an error in either one.

Top 50 of 115 shown $397,586 total · $274,086 shown here

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Sep 6, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Political committees ranked by direct contributions
Rank Committee Amount Share Transactions Last activity
1 NATIONAL AUTOMOBILE DEALERS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00040998 $10,000 2.5% 2 Mar 10, 2026
2 GENERAL ATOMICS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00215285 $10,000 2.5% 2 Mar 20, 2026
3 UNITED STATES SUGAR CORPORATION EMPLOYEE STOCK OWNERSHIP PLAN POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE, C00234120 $10,000 2.5% 2 Mar 3, 2026
4 SPACE EXPLORATION TECHNOLOGIES CORP. PAC C00411116 $10,000 2.5% 2 Mar 23, 2026
5 APPLIED RESEARCH ASSOCIATES, INC. POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (ARAPAC) C00762427 $10,000 2.5% 2 Mar 31, 2026
6 SEAL PAC SUPPORTING ELECTING AMERICAN LEADERS PAC C00570226 $9,500 2.4% 6 Apr 1, 2026
7 BLUE ORIGIN LLC POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (BLUE ORIGIN PAC) C00557793 $8,500 2.1% 4 Jun 22, 2026
8 HONEYWELL INTERNATIONAL INC. TECHNOLOGIES PUBLIC AFFAIRS COUNCIL (HONPAC) C00096156 $8,000 2.0% 5 Jun 26, 2026
9 GENERAL DYNAMICS CORPORATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (GENERAL DYNAMICS EMPLOYEE PAC) C00078451 $7,000 1.8% 4 Mar 24, 2026
10 LOCKHEED MARTIN CORPORATION EMPLOYEES' POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00303024 $6,500 1.6% 6 Jul 27, 2026
11 THE BALDWIN INSURANCE GROUP, INC. FEDERAL PAC C00914614 $6,500 1.6% 3 Feb 4, 2026
12 CONSERVATIVE OPPORTUNITY LEADERSHIP AND ENTERPRISE PAC C00404392 $6,000 1.5% 4 May 30, 2026
13 HERMEUS CORPORATION PAC C00823575 $5,500 1.4% 5 Feb 3, 2026
14 AMERICAN BANKERS ASSOCIATION PAC (BANKPAC) C00004275 $5,000 1.3% 2 Jul 10, 2025
15 ASSOCIATED BUILDERS AND CONTRACTORS, INC. POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (ABC PAC) C00010421 $5,000 1.3% 2 May 28, 2026
16 FOOD MARKETPLACE INC. POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE FMI FOODPAC C00014555 $5,000 1.3% 2 Feb 24, 2026
17 NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00030718 $5,000 1.3% 2 Jul 29, 2026
18 THE COUNCIL OF INSURANCE AGENTS & BROKERS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00039578 $5,000 1.3% 1 Sep 10, 2025
19 AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00077321 $5,000 1.3% 2 Jul 13, 2026
20 AMERICAN CRYSTAL SUGAR COMPANY POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00110338 $5,000 1.3% 1 Sep 3, 2025
21 NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CONVENIENCE STORES POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00126763 $5,000 1.3% 2 Mar 4, 2026
22 AIRCRAFT OWNERS AND PILOTS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00131185 $5,000 1.3% 1 Mar 18, 2026
23 BAE SYSTEMS INC. POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (BAE SYSTEMS USA PAC) C00281212 $5,000 1.3% 3 Feb 25, 2026
24 THE HOME DEPOT INC. POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00284885 $5,000 1.3% 1 Aug 26, 2025
25 FAA MANAGERS ASSOCIATION INC. PAC C00366070 $5,000 1.3% 2 Apr 7, 2026
26 SIERRA NEVADA COMPANY, LLC POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00367995 $5,000 1.3% 3 Jul 24, 2026
27 INTERNATIONAL FOODSERVICE DISTRIBUTORS ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00383521 $5,000 1.3% 2 Mar 18, 2026
28 PUBLIX SUPER MARKETS, INC. ASSOCIATES POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00400705 $5,000 1.3% 2 Sep 25, 2025
29 THE EYE OF THE TIGER POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00467431 $5,000 1.3% 1 May 13, 2025
30 AMERICAN REVIVAL PAC C00639229 $5,000 1.3% 1 Jul 14, 2025
31 BOLD ACTIVE CONSERVATIVES OF NEBRASKA PAC C00647420 $5,000 1.3% 1 Aug 28, 2025
32 AMERICAN ISRAEL PUBLIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00797670 $5,000 1.3% 1 Jun 10, 2026
33 DOUBLE L PAC C00825430 $5,000 1.3% 1 Jun 29, 2026
34 SPACE COAST LEADERSHIP PAC C00877506 $5,000 1.3% 2 Jun 26, 2026
35 AMERICAN COUNCIL OF ENGINEERING COMPANIES (ACEC/PAC) C00010868 $4,500 1.1% 2 Apr 14, 2026
36 FLORIDA CITRUS MUTUAL POLITCAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00131607 $4,086 1.0% 2 Feb 27, 2026
37 LEONARDO DRS PAC C00275123 $4,000 1.0% 2 Jun 24, 2025
38 NATIONAL BUSINESS AVIATION ASSOCIATION INC POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (NBAA-PAC) C00319723 $4,000 1.0% 4 Mar 3, 2026
39 NUCOR CORPORATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00379628 $4,000 1.0% 2 Apr 28, 2026
40 JIM JORDAN FOR CONGRESS C00416594 $4,000 1.0% 2 Jan 28, 2026
41 PATRIOTS IN ACTION C00531590 $4,000 1.0% 1 Apr 9, 2026
42 A NEW NATION PAC C00531764 $4,000 1.0% 1 Apr 21, 2026
43 AEROVIRONMENT, INC PAC C00797530 $4,000 1.0% 3 May 20, 2025
44 RUDY FOR INDIANA C00822767 $4,000 1.0% 2 May 27, 2026
45 BUILD POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF HOME BUILDERS (BUILDPAC) C00000901 $3,500 0.9% 1 Jun 9, 2026
46 NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION AMERICA'S ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES PAC C00002972 $3,500 0.9% 3 Mar 19, 2026
47 AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION PAC C00035451 $3,500 0.9% 2 Nov 19, 2025
48 PARSONS CORPORATION POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00103549 $3,500 0.9% 2 Mar 12, 2026
49 THE BOEING COMPANY PAC C00142711 $3,500 0.9% 2 Apr 29, 2026
50 KOCH, INC. POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (KOCHPAC) C00236489 $3,500 0.9% 2 Apr 21, 2026
Showing 1 to 50 of 115 committees
1 2 3 Next

Who the committees behind this money were

Every committee here is placed by the registration it filed with the FEC for the 2026 cycle: its designation, its committee type, and the organizational form it reported. That is the FEC's own record and involves no judgement by MyRepTracker, so this covers every itemized dollar. A committee's registration can change between cycles, and each cycle is judged by its own.

Contributed to Scott Franklin

Committees itemized $397,586 in contributions to this campaign.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committee Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Corporate PACs $195,000 49.0% 59 107
Trade association PACs $67,086 16.9% 19 34
Leadership PACs $43,500 10.9% 12 17
Non-connected committees $30,500 7.7% 9 18
Membership organization PACs $28,500 7.2% 7 9
Other candidates' committees $11,500 2.9% 4 6
Corporations without capital stock $8,500 2.1% 1 4
Cooperative PACs $7,000 1.8% 2 2
Labor union PACs $6,000 1.5% 2 3
Itemized total for this direction $397,586

What interests those committees advance

The FEC publishes no industry or interest field, so unlike the section above this one is a claim MyRepTracker makes. A committee is placed here only when there is a document behind the claim that a reader can open: its own statement of organization, its own published mission statement, or a named third party. Every assignment carries that document on the committee's own page. A committee's name is never evidence of anything.

Categorized is not the same as reviewed. Most of these sectors were assigned by machine from the committee's own filing rather than read by a person. Each committee's own page says which of the two its assignment is, and names the document behind it either way.

Coverage is partial on purpose, and the part that is not covered is shown at full size rather than left out. Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees are excluded outright: their giving is an officeholder's or a party's decision, so no interest label describes it. Categories are taxonomy interest-1.7.

Contributed to Scott Franklin

Committees itemized $397,586 in contributions to this campaign. $55,000 of that came from leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees, which are not interest groups. Of the remaining $342,586, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $262,086 and committees not yet categorized account for $80,500.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Interest Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Defense Defense $73,000 21.3% 18 49
Food and beverage Agriculture $51,000 14.9% 13 21
Technology Communications and technology $22,500 6.6% 5 9
Construction Construction $21,500 6.3% 5 8
Air transport Transportation $17,000 5.0% 5 10
Automotive Transportation $10,000 2.9% 1 2
Insurance Finance, insurance, and real estate $10,000 2.9% 3 3
Agribusiness Agriculture $8,586 2.5% 3 4
Electric utilities Energy and natural resources $7,000 2.0% 3 5
Oil and gas Energy and natural resources $5,500 1.6% 3 3
Accounting Professional services $5,000 1.5% 1 2
Commercial banking Finance, insurance, and real estate $5,000 1.5% 1 2
Pro-Israel Ideological and single-issue $5,000 1.5% 1 1
Real estate Finance, insurance, and real estate $5,000 1.5% 1 2
Pro-Republican Party Ideological and single-issue $3,500 1.0% 1 2
Transportation unions Labor $3,500 1.0% 1 2
Nurses and nursing specialties Health $2,500 0.7% 1 1
Physicians and medical specialties Health $2,500 0.7% 1 1
Lawyers and law firms Professional services $2,000 0.6% 1 2
Telecommunications Communications and technology $1,000 0.3% 1 1
Trucking Transportation $1,000 0.3% 1 1
Committees not yet categorized $80,500 23.5% 29 46
Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees Not part of the base the shares beside it are taken over. $55,000 Not applicable 16 23
Base the shares are taken over $342,586 100%
Itemized total for this direction $397,586

Last-minute contributions reported before an election

In the days just before an election, a campaign must tell the FEC within 48 hours about any contribution or loan of $1,000 or more. These notices arrive faster than the regular reporting schedule, and the same money is reported again in the report covering those days. Nothing here is added to receipts: it is a preview of money the ordinary reports will carry, not money beside them.

Reported on notices

$10,000
Across 3 notices, received Jul 30, 2026 to Aug 11, 2026

Still only provisional

$10,000
3 notices no stored regular report covers yet

The most recent notice was filed on Aug 13, 2026. A notice stops being the only record of its money once a regular report covers the same days; those are marked reconciled below and the amounts appear in Scott Franklin's reported totals through the ordinary schedule.

48-hour notices filed for the 2026 cycle, newest first
Filed Amount Entries Covers State Filing
Aug 13, 2026 $1,500 1 Aug 11 to Aug 11, 2026 Provisional FEC filing ↗
Aug 12, 2026 $4,500 3 Aug 10 to Aug 10, 2026 Provisional FEC filing ↗
Aug 1, 2026 $4,000 1 Jul 30 to Jul 30, 2026 Provisional FEC filing ↗

Where the individual money was reported from

Contributions from individuals that the campaign itemized, grouped by the state each contributor gave as their address. Contributions of $200 or less in aggregate are not itemized and carry no address, so they are not here at all. These places account for $369,836 of the $448,877 this campaign reported from individuals and from transfers by its other authorized committees, across 366 itemized contributions.

From Florida

$228,786
61.9% of the itemized money that has a place

From everywhere else

$141,050
38.1% of the itemized money that has a place

Money from outside Florida is not money from outside the country, and neither figure is evidence that anything unlawful happened. People may contribute to campaigns in states they do not live in, and United States citizens living abroad may contribute at all.

What kind of place it came from

Itemized individual contributions by kind of place, 2026 cycle
Kind of place Amount Contributions Share
States and the District of ColumbiaContributors who gave an address in one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia. $369,836 366 100.0%

Places, largest first

Top 10 of 14 places shown as bars. Every place is in the table below.

  • Florida this campaign's state $228,786
  • Virginia $50,250
  • District of Columbia $24,000
  • California $23,750
  • Maryland $18,000
  • Georgia $9,000
  • Alabama $6,500
  • Massachusetts $3,500
  • Connecticut $1,500
  • New York $1,500
Every place with itemized individual contributions reported for the 2026 cycle
Place Amount Contributions Share
Florida this campaign's state $228,786 198 61.9%
Virginia $50,250 52 13.6%
District of Columbia $24,000 26 6.5%
California $23,750 30 6.4%
Maryland $18,000 18 4.9%
Georgia $9,000 7 2.4%
Alabama $6,500 9 1.8%
Massachusetts $3,500 3 0.9%
Connecticut $1,500 1 0.4%
New York $1,500 2 0.4%
Minnesota $1,000 1 0.3%
Tennessee $1,000 1 0.3%
Texas $800 8 0.2%
Ohio $250 10 0.1%
Reported with a place $369,836 366 100%

Contributions are transactions, not people: one contributor giving every month is counted once for each contribution. No contributor's name, address, employer, or occupation is stored or shown anywhere on this site.

How this compares

Compared with U.S. House campaigns in Florida, 2026 cycle: 235 campaigns with a complete Federal Election Commission record for the cycle. This is a position in that group, not a score, a grade, or a judgement about the campaign.

Total receipts

Everything the authorized campaign committee took in for this cycle, including contributions, loans, and transfers.

  • This campaign $850,000
  • Cohort median $98,825
Total receipts for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Florida, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $850,000
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$17,717
Median$98,825
75th percentile$726,727
Highest in the cohort$12,325,575
Campaigns counted 235

185 of the 235 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 79th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Share of receipts from political committees

Direct contributions from PACs and other political committees as a share of total receipts. Campaigns reporting no receipts at all have no share and are left out of this measure.

  • This campaign 44.4%
  • Cohort median 0.0%
Share of receipts from political committees for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Florida, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign 44.4%
Lowest in the cohort0.0%
25th percentile0.0%
Median0.0%
75th percentile1.7%
Highest in the cohort70.0%
Campaigns counted 222

211 of the 222 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 95th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Cash on hand

The balance reported at the end of the coverage period. Campaigns report at different times, so this compares balances as of each campaign's own coverage end.

  • This campaign $960,764
  • Cohort median $19,203
Cash on hand for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Florida, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $960,764
Lowest in the cohort-$6,950
25th percentile$665
Median$19,203
75th percentile$163,988
Highest in the cohort$2,928,458
Campaigns counted 235

210 of the 235 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 89th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending supporting

Independent expenditures by other organizations supporting the candidate. This money was never received or controlled by the campaign.

  • This campaign $0
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending supporting for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Florida, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $0
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$3,686,854
Campaigns counted 235

0 of the 235 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 0th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending opposing

Independent expenditures by other organizations opposing the candidate, not coordinated with any campaign.

  • This campaign $0
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending opposing for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Florida, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $0
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$2,308,884
Campaigns counted 235

0 of the 235 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 0th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Every comparison is drawn from one two-year cycle and one office. Only campaigns whose FEC record for that cycle is complete are counted; the rest are reported beside the cohort and are never counted as zero. One authorized committee is counted once however many candidacies report it, so where a candidate's committees are all reported by another FEC record, that record supplies the figures for both. A campaign is never compared with another cycle, with a career total, or with a candidate for a different office.

What these numbers mean

Receipts are not the same as contributions
Total receipts include everything the campaign took in, such as contributions, loans, and transfers. Contributions are only the money given by people and committees.
Direct contributions are not outside spending
A direct contribution is money received by the campaign's own authorized committee. An independent expenditure is money another organization spent on its own, without coordinating with the campaign. The Federal Election Commission treats these as different activities, and so does this page.
The organizations named here are political committees
Direct rankings count what one political committee gave to a campaign; outside-spending rankings count what a committee spent independently. A separate conduit section groups individual contributions only when the campaign's memo record supplies a registered conduit committee's FEC ID. It never attributes donors to employers or interest groups, and it never exposes contributor names. Sites using broader attribution rules may therefore report different organization totals.
A cycle may be only partly reported
Filings arrive throughout a two-year cycle. A current cycle shows only what has been filed and processed through the coverage date shown above, so it is not comparable with a finished cycle.
This view is cycle specific
It covers the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Source: Federal Election Commission ↗. MyRepTracker ingests FEC records directly and does not add its own influence, risk, or corruption score.