Home Michigan Elections 2026 Donavan Mckinney

Donavan Mckinney

Democratic candidate · 2026 general election · Michigan

DM

Donavan Mckinney

Democratic

Races

Campaign finance

FEC data through Jul 15, 2026. Covering the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Possibly out of date. last refreshed 2026-08-20

The 2026 cycle at a glance

Total receipts
$1,372,309
Everything the campaign took in
Individual contributions
$1,204,321
Itemized and unitemized split not reported
PAC and other committees
$91,383
Received from political committees
Campaign spending
$1,229,455
Total disbursements
Cash on hand
$142,854
At the end of the reporting period

Where the money came from

These categories divide total receipts of $1,372,309 exactly once, so they add back up to the reported total.

Receipts by funding category for the 2026 cycle
Source Amount Share of receipts
Individual contributions $1,204,321 87.8%
PAC and other committee contributions $91,383 6.7%
Party committee contributions $0 0.0%
Candidate self-funding $0 0.0%
Loans $0 0.0%
Other receipts, including transfers $76,604 5.6%
Total receipts $1,372,309 100%

Financial position

Cash, debt, refunds, loans, and transfers as reported through Jul 15, 2026 for the 2026 cycle. These are factual reported values, not a judgement about whether a campaign is healthy, viable, or strong. Independent expenditures are never added to or subtracted from any of them: that money was never the campaign's.

Reported financial position for the 2026 cycle
Measure Amount
Cash on hand at coverage end $142,854
Debts and obligations owed by the committee $0
Debts and obligations owed to the committee Not reported
Contributions refunded to individuals $9,245
Contributions refunded to committees $24
Transfers received from other authorized committeesAlready raised money moving between the candidate's own committees, not new fundraising. $76,288
Transfers made to other authorized committees $0
Repayments of candidate loans $0
Repayments of other loans $0

Calculated from the reported values

Each row below is arithmetic MyRepTracker performed on the values above. Where the FEC published the figure itself, the row says so and no calculation was made.

Values calculated from the reported financial position, with the formula for each
Measure Amount How it was produced
Contributions net of refunds $1,286,435 Calculated as individual + committee + party + candidate contributions, minus contributions refunded to individuals and committees.
Operating expenditures net of offsets Not reported An input this calculation needs is not published by the source behind this record.
Outstanding candidate loans $0 Calculated as loans received from the candidate minus repayments of those loans.
Other outstanding loans $0 Calculated as other loans received minus repayments of those loans.
Total contributions refunded $9,269 Calculated as refunds to individuals plus refunds to committees.

Change since the previous filing

Both columns come from committee C00903591, so the two periods are comparable. A change is the difference between what Q2 2026 reported and what 12P 2026 reported, and the direction is stated in words rather than shown only as a sign. Q2 2026 reported through Jun 30, 2026 and 12P 2026 through Jul 15, 2026.

Financial position at the two most recent controlling filings of committee C00903591
Measure Q2 2026Reported through Jun 30, 2026 12P 2026Reported through Jul 15, 2026 Change
Cash on hand at period end $264,251 $142,854 Down $121,397
Debts owed by the committee $0 $0 No change
Contribution refunds in the period $3,307 $378 Down $2,929

Cash compared with one period's spending

Cash on hand of $142,854 set beside the $234,808 this campaign spent during 12P 2026, through Jul 15, 2026, which is 0.6 times that period's spending. This is a ratio between two reported numbers over one named period. It is not a forecast of how long the money will last, and campaigns do not spend evenly across a cycle.

Outside spending

Independent expenditures are spending by other organizations that is not coordinated with the campaign. This money was never received or controlled by Donavan Mckinney. Supporting and opposing spending are kept apart rather than combined into one number, and neither is added to campaign receipts.

Spent supporting

$1,603,901
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

Spent opposing

$268,690
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

What the money was spent on

These spending categories were produced by taxonomy spend-1.2 and the current rules are spend-1.3, so they are withheld until this record is refreshed.

Political committees that contributed directly

Money received by the authorized campaign committee from PACs and other political committees. This is not outside spending.

This total will usually differ from the PAC figure in the summary above. The summary is what the campaign reported receiving in total; this ranking adds up the individual contributions that were itemized, which is a different record made at a different time. Neither is a correction of the other, and the gap is not an error in either one.

Top 5 of 22 shown $85,293 total · $30,000 shown here

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Aug 16, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Political committees ranked by direct contributions
Rank Committee Amount Share Transactions Last activity
1 SMART TD PAC C00001636 $10,000 11.7% 2 Feb 2, 2026
2 CARPENTERS LEGISLATIVE IMPROVEMENT COMMITTEE UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS AND JOINERS C00001016 $5,000 5.9% 1 Dec 1, 2025
3 SEIU COPE (SERVICE EMPLOYEES INTERNATIONAL UNION COMMITTEE ON POLITICAL EDUCATION) C00004036 $5,000 5.9% 1 Aug 5, 2025
4 INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF ELECTRICAL WORKERS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00027342 $5,000 5.9% 1 May 11, 2026
5 PROGRESSIVE VOTERS OF AMERICA C00406553 $5,000 5.9% 1 Jun 20, 2025
Show the complete list of 22 committees →

Organizations spending independently

Supporting Donavan Mckinney

All 14 shown $1,603,901 total

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Aug 16, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Organizations ranked by independent spending supporting this candidate
Rank Committee Amount Share Transactions Last activity
1 Justice Democrats PAC C00630665 $460,547 28.7% 12 Jul 24, 2026
2 National Nurses United for Patient Protection C00490375 $400,000 24.9% 1 Jun 17, 2026
3 Working Families Party PAC C00606962 $307,770 19.2% 15 Aug 1, 2026
4 AMERICAN PRIORITIES (AP) C00932723 $150,000 9.4% 2 Jul 30, 2026
5 Michigan Peoples Choice C00733915 $100,000 6.2% 2 Jul 24, 2026
6 EMGAGE FEDERAL POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00453704 $53,192 3.3% 9 Aug 3, 2026
7 Rolling Sea Action Fund C00844530 $50,000 3.1% 1 Jul 22, 2026
8 UNITY & JUSTICE FUND C00881011 $22,257 1.4% 7 Aug 4, 2026
9 Progress Action Fund C00754069 $20,000 1.2% 1 Jul 14, 2026
10 SF SOLIDARITY PAC C00897314 $13,592 0.8% 2 Jul 27, 2026
11 Indivisible Action C00678839 $10,990 0.7% 3 Jul 25, 2026
12 SEIU COPE (Service Employees International Union Committee On Political Education) C00004036 $8,117 0.5% 2 Jul 23, 2026
13 United We Can C00523621 $5,375 0.3% 1 Jul 30, 2026
14 MI PODER PAC C00890665 $2,063 0.1% 4 Aug 1, 2026

Opposing Donavan Mckinney

1 organization shown $268,690 total

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Aug 16, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Organizations ranked by independent spending opposing this candidate
Rank Committee Amount Share Transactions Last activity
1 Protect Progress C00848440 $268,690 100.0% 5 Jul 16, 2026

What that outside spending purchased

Each independent expenditure carries a short description the spending committee wrote, and these categories are those descriptions sorted under taxonomy outside-1.0. Spending supporting Donavan Mckinney and spending opposing them are broken down separately and never combined, and every share below is a share of that one direction's total.

The largest category is usually "Advertising, medium not specified". That is not a leftover: it is spending the committee described only as a media buy or as advertising, without saying whether it aired on television, ran online, or arrived in the mail. MyRepTracker reports what was filed rather than assigning it a medium.

Supporting Donavan Mckinney

Independent spending supporting this candidate, by reported purpose for the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Purpose Amount % Share Transactions
Digital and online advertising $854,272 53.3% 13
Broadcast, cable, and radio advertising $405,500 25.3% 7
Direct mail $259,557 16.2% 12
Phone calls and text messages $39,954 2.5% 19
Canvassing and field organizing $26,257 1.6% 5
Printed materials and signs $18,361 1.1% 6
Classified $1,603,901 100.0%
Unclassified filing descriptions $0 0.0%
Total independent spending $1,603,901 100% 62

Opposing Donavan Mckinney

Independent spending opposing this candidate, by reported purpose for the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Purpose Amount % Share Transactions
Direct mail $268,690 100.0% 5
Classified $268,690 100.0%
Unclassified filing descriptions $0 0.0%
Total independent spending $268,690 100% 5

Who the committees behind this money were

Every committee here is placed by the registration it filed with the FEC for the 2026 cycle: its designation, its committee type, and the organizational form it reported. That is the FEC's own record and involves no judgement by MyRepTracker, so this covers every itemized dollar. A committee's registration can change between cycles, and each cycle is judged by its own.

Contributed to Donavan Mckinney

Committees itemized $85,293 in contributions to this campaign.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committee Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Non-connected committees $36,500 42.8% 9 10
Labor union PACs $32,500 38.1% 7 8
Leadership PACs $10,000 11.7% 2 2
Membership organization PACs $3,600 4.2% 1 4
Other candidates' committees $1,858 2.2% 2 2
Trade association PACs $835 1.0% 1 1
Itemized total for this direction $85,293

Spent supporting Donavan Mckinney

Committees itemized $1,603,901 in independent spending supporting Donavan Mckinney.

Independent spenders supporting this candidate, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committee Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Non-connected committees $1,529,001 95.3% 11 49
Membership organization PACs $53,192 3.3% 1 9
Other candidates' committees $13,592 0.8% 1 2
Labor union PACs $8,117 0.5% 1 2
Itemized total for this direction $1,603,901

Spent opposing Donavan Mckinney

Committees itemized $268,690 in independent spending opposing Donavan Mckinney.

Independent spenders opposing this candidate, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committee Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Non-connected committees $268,690 100.0% 1 5
Itemized total for this direction $268,690

What interests those committees advance

The FEC publishes no industry or interest field, so unlike the section above this one is a claim MyRepTracker makes. A committee is placed here only when there is a document behind the claim that a reader can open: its own statement of organization, its own published mission statement, or a named third party. Every assignment carries that document on the committee's own page. A committee's name is never evidence of anything.

Categorized is not the same as reviewed. Most of these sectors were assigned by machine from the committee's own filing rather than read by a person. Each committee's own page says which of the two its assignment is, and names the document behind it either way.

Coverage is partial on purpose, and the part that is not covered is shown at full size rather than left out. Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees are excluded outright: their giving is an officeholder's or a party's decision, so no interest label describes it. Categories are taxonomy interest-1.7.

Contributed to Donavan Mckinney

Committees itemized $85,293 in contributions to this campaign. $11,858 of that came from leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees, which are not interest groups. Of the remaining $73,435, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $32,500 and committees not yet categorized account for $40,935.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Interest Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Building trades unions Labor $10,000 13.6% 2 2
Democracy and election reform Ideological and single-issue $5,000 6.8% 1 1
Industrial unions Labor $5,000 6.8% 1 1
Pro-Democratic Party Ideological and single-issue $5,000 6.8% 1 1
Public sector unions Labor $4,000 5.4% 1 1
Nurses and nursing specialties Health $3,000 4.1% 1 1
Transportation unions Labor $500 0.7% 1 1
Committees not yet categorized $40,935 55.7% 10 15
Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees Not part of the base the shares beside it are taken over. $11,858 Not applicable 4 4
Base the shares are taken over $73,435 100%
Itemized total for this direction $85,293

Spent supporting Donavan Mckinney

Committees itemized $1,603,901 in independent spending supporting Donavan Mckinney. $13,592 of that came from leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees, which are not interest groups. Of the remaining $1,590,309, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $1,326,433 and committees not yet categorized account for $263,876.

Independent spenders supporting this candidate, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Interest Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Pro-Democratic Party Ideological and single-issue $460,547 29.0% 1 12
Nurses and nursing specialties Health $400,000 25.2% 1 1
Democracy and election reform Ideological and single-issue $307,770 19.4% 1 15
Pro-Palestinian rights Ideological and single-issue $150,000 9.4% 1 2
Industrial unions Labor $8,117 0.5% 1 2
Committees not yet categorized $263,876 16.6% 8 28
Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees Not part of the base the shares beside it are taken over. $13,592 Not applicable 1 2
Base the shares are taken over $1,590,309 100%
Itemized total for this direction $1,603,901

Spent opposing Donavan Mckinney

Committees itemized $268,690 in independent spending opposing Donavan Mckinney. Of that, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $268,690 and committees not yet categorized account for $0.

Independent spenders opposing this candidate, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Interest Amount % Share Committees Transactions
Cryptocurrency and blockchain Finance, insurance, and real estate $268,690 100.0% 1 5
Base the shares are taken over $268,690 100%
Itemized total for this direction $268,690

Last-minute contributions reported before an election

In the days just before an election, a campaign must tell the FEC within 48 hours about any contribution or loan of $1,000 or more. These notices arrive faster than the regular reporting schedule, and the same money is reported again in the report covering those days. Nothing here is added to receipts: it is a preview of money the ordinary reports will carry, not money beside them.

Reported on notices

$106,292
Across 7 notices, received Jul 16, 2026 to Jul 30, 2026

Still only provisional

$106,292
7 notices no stored regular report covers yet

The most recent notice was filed on Jul 31, 2026. A notice stops being the only record of its money once a regular report covers the same days; those are marked reconciled below and the amounts appear in Donavan Mckinney's reported totals through the ordinary schedule.

48-hour notices filed for the 2026 cycle, newest first
Filed Amount Entries Covers State Filing
Jul 31, 2026 $10,233 6 Jul 29 to Jul 30, 2026 Provisional FEC filing ↗
Jul 29, 2026 $21,350 17 Jul 27 to Jul 28, 2026 Provisional FEC filing ↗
Jul 27, 2026 $13,250 10 Jul 25 to Jul 26, 2026 Provisional FEC filing ↗
Jul 24, 2026 $28,333 11 Jul 22 to Jul 23, 2026 Provisional FEC filing ↗
Jul 22, 2026 $11,125 9 Jul 20 to Jul 20, 2026 Provisional FEC filing ↗
Jul 20, 2026 $8,500 6 Jul 18 to Jul 19, 2026 Provisional FEC filing ↗
Jul 18, 2026 $13,500 7 Jul 16 to Jul 17, 2026 Provisional FEC filing ↗

Where the individual money was reported from

Contributions from individuals that the campaign itemized, grouped by the state each contributor gave as their address. Contributions of $200 or less in aggregate are not itemized and carry no address, so they are not here at all. These places account for $531,642 of the $1,280,609 this campaign reported from individuals and from transfers by its other authorized committees, across 1,425 itemized contributions.

From Michigan

$203,427
38.3% of the itemized money that has a place

From everywhere else

$328,215
61.7% of the itemized money that has a place

Money from outside Michigan is not money from outside the country, and neither figure is evidence that anything unlawful happened. People may contribute to campaigns in states they do not live in, and United States citizens living abroad may contribute at all.

What kind of place it came from

Itemized individual contributions by kind of place, 2026 cycle
Kind of place Amount Contributions Share
States and the District of ColumbiaContributors who gave an address in one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia. $531,642 1,425 100.0%

Places, largest first

Top 10 of 39 places shown as bars. Every place is in the table below.

  • Michigan this campaign's state $203,427
  • California $119,610
  • New York $86,765
  • District of Columbia $29,610
  • Illinois $15,170
  • New Jersey $11,590
  • Washington $10,518
  • Maryland $8,100
  • Florida $6,410
  • Pennsylvania $5,936
Every place with itemized individual contributions reported for the 2026 cycle
Place Amount Contributions Share
Michigan this campaign's state $203,427 676 38.3%
California $119,610 189 22.5%
New York $86,765 142 16.3%
District of Columbia $29,610 37 5.6%
Illinois $15,170 64 2.9%
New Jersey $11,590 34 2.2%
Washington $10,518 22 2.0%
Maryland $8,100 22 1.5%
Florida $6,410 35 1.2%
Pennsylvania $5,936 34 1.1%
Texas $4,350 11 0.8%
Massachusetts $4,217 26 0.8%
Virginia $3,987 10 0.7%
Kansas $3,000 1 0.6%
Colorado $2,110 17 0.4%
North Carolina $1,775 8 0.3%
Ohio $1,750 4 0.3%
Minnesota $1,640 6 0.3%
Connecticut $1,600 7 0.3%
Oklahoma $1,515 2 0.3%
Wisconsin $1,130 6 0.2%
Nebraska $1,000 1 0.2%
Nevada $750 2 0.1%
Utah $700 10 0.1%
Louisiana $600 25 0.1%
Wyoming $600 2 0.1%
Arizona $575 5 0.1%
Indiana $500 1 0.1%
Montana $500 1 0.1%
Tennessee $500 1 0.1%
Vermont $418 8 0.1%
Georgia $400 2 0.1%
Iowa $250 1 <0.1%
Mississippi $250 1 <0.1%
New Mexico $162 6 <0.1%
Oregon $100 1 <0.1%
Missouri $75 2 <0.1%
Alaska $32 2 <0.1%
Kentucky $20 1 <0.1%
Reported with a place $531,642 1,425 100%

Contributions are transactions, not people: one contributor giving every month is counted once for each contribution. No contributor's name, address, employer, or occupation is stored or shown anywhere on this site.

How this compares

Compared with U.S. House campaigns in Michigan, 2026 cycle: 77 campaigns with a complete Federal Election Commission record for the cycle. This is a position in that group, not a score, a grade, or a judgement about the campaign.

Total receipts

Everything the authorized campaign committee took in for this cycle, including contributions, loans, and transfers.

  • This campaign $1,372,309
  • Cohort median $220,313
Total receipts for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Michigan, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $1,372,309
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$10,735
Median$220,313
75th percentile$1,263,599
Highest in the cohort$6,306,828
Campaigns counted 77

59 of the 77 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 77th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Share of receipts from political committees

Direct contributions from PACs and other political committees as a share of total receipts. Campaigns reporting no receipts at all have no share and are left out of this measure.

  • This campaign 6.7%
  • Cohort median 0.1%
Share of receipts from political committees for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Michigan, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign 6.7%
Lowest in the cohort0.0%
25th percentile0.0%
Median0.1%
75th percentile6.7%
Highest in the cohort57.9%
Campaigns counted 72

53 of the 72 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 74th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Cash on hand

The balance reported at the end of the coverage period. Campaigns report at different times, so this compares balances as of each campaign's own coverage end.

  • This campaign $142,854
  • Cohort median $14,940
Cash on hand for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Michigan, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $142,854
Lowest in the cohort-$353
25th percentile$41
Median$14,940
75th percentile$414,935
Highest in the cohort$6,546,332
Campaigns counted 77

45 of the 77 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 58th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending supporting

Independent expenditures by other organizations supporting the candidate. This money was never received or controlled by the campaign.

  • This campaign $1,603,901
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending supporting for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Michigan, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $1,603,901
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$2,327,585
Campaigns counted 77

74 of the 77 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 96th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending opposing

Independent expenditures by other organizations opposing the candidate, not coordinated with any campaign.

  • This campaign $268,690
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending opposing for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Michigan, 2026 cycle
Measure Value
This campaign $268,690
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$1,984,156
Campaigns counted 77

71 of the 77 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 92th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Every comparison is drawn from one two-year cycle and one office. Only campaigns whose FEC record for that cycle is complete are counted; the rest are reported beside the cohort and are never counted as zero. One authorized committee is counted once however many candidacies report it, so where a candidate's committees are all reported by another FEC record, that record supplies the figures for both. A campaign is never compared with another cycle, with a career total, or with a candidate for a different office.

What these numbers mean

Receipts are not the same as contributions
Total receipts include everything the campaign took in, such as contributions, loans, and transfers. Contributions are only the money given by people and committees.
Direct contributions are not outside spending
A direct contribution is money received by the campaign's own authorized committee. An independent expenditure is money another organization spent on its own, without coordinating with the campaign. The Federal Election Commission treats these as different activities, and so does this page.
The organizations named here are political committees
Direct rankings count what one political committee gave to a campaign; outside-spending rankings count what a committee spent independently. A separate conduit section groups individual contributions only when the campaign's memo record supplies a registered conduit committee's FEC ID. It never attributes donors to employers or interest groups, and it never exposes contributor names. Sites using broader attribution rules may therefore report different organization totals.
A cycle may be only partly reported
Filings arrive throughout a two-year cycle. A current cycle shows only what has been filed and processed through the coverage date shown above, so it is not comparable with a finished cycle.
This view is cycle specific
It covers the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Source: Federal Election Commission ↗. MyRepTracker ingests FEC records directly and does not add its own influence, risk, or corruption score.