Home Virginia Elections 2022 Donald Beyer, Jr.

Donald Beyer, Jr.

Democratic candidate · 2022 general election · Virginia

DB

Donald Beyer, Jr.

Democratic

Races

Campaign finance

FEC data through Dec 31, 2022. Covering the 2022 two-year cycle only.

The 2022 cycle at a glance

Total receipts
$2,121,791
Everything the campaign took in
Individual contributions
$1,437,244
Itemized and unitemized split not reported
PAC and other committees
$673,375
Received from political committees
Campaign spending
$2,165,050
Total disbursements
Cash on hand
$596,763
At the end of the reporting period

Where the money came from

These categories divide total receipts of $2,121,791 exactly once, so they add back up to the reported total.

Receipts by funding category for the 2022 cycle
SourceAmountShare of receipts
Individual contributions$1,437,24467.7%
PAC and other committee contributions$673,37531.7%
Party committee contributions$00.0%
Candidate self-funding$00.0%
Loans$00.0%
Other receipts, including transfers$11,1730.5%
Total receipts$2,121,791100%

Financial position

Cash, debt, refunds, loans, and transfers as reported through Dec 31, 2022 for the 2022 cycle. These are factual reported values, not a judgement about whether a campaign is healthy, viable, or strong. Independent expenditures are never added to or subtracted from any of them: that money was never the campaign's.

Reported financial position for the 2022 cycle
MeasureAmount
Cash on hand at coverage end$596,763
Debts and obligations owed by the committee$0
Debts and obligations owed to the committeeNot reported
Contributions refunded to individuals$1,805
Contributions refunded to committees$3,000
Transfers received from other authorized committeesAlready raised money moving between the candidate's own committees, not new fundraising.$0
Transfers made to other authorized committees$0
Repayments of candidate loans$0
Repayments of other loans$0

Calculated from the reported values

Each row below is arithmetic MyRepTracker performed on the values above. Where the FEC published the figure itself, the row says so and no calculation was made.

Values calculated from the reported financial position, with the formula for each
MeasureAmountHow it was produced
Contributions net of refunds$2,105,814Calculated as individual + committee + party + candidate contributions, minus contributions refunded to individuals and committees.
Operating expenditures net of offsetsNot reportedAn input this calculation needs is not published by the source behind this record.
Outstanding candidate loans$0Calculated as loans received from the candidate minus repayments of those loans.
Other outstanding loans$0Calculated as other loans received minus repayments of those loans.
Total contributions refunded$4,805Calculated as refunds to individuals plus refunds to committees.

Change since the previous filing

Both columns come from committee C00555888, so the two periods are comparable. A change is the difference between what 30G 2022 reported and what YE 2022 reported, and the direction is stated in words rather than shown only as a sign. 30G 2022 reported through Nov 28, 2022 and YE 2022 through Dec 31, 2022.

Financial position at the two most recent controlling filings of committee C00555888
Measure30G 2022Reported through Nov 28, 2022YE 2022Reported through Dec 31, 2022Change
Cash on hand at period end$638,698$596,763Down $41,935
Debts owed by the committee$0$0No change
Contribution refunds in the period$0$0No change

Cash compared with one period's spending

Cash on hand of $596,763 set beside the $53,878 this campaign spent during YE 2022, through Dec 31, 2022, which is 11.1 times that period's spending. This is a ratio between two reported numbers over one named period. It is not a forecast of how long the money will last, and campaigns do not spend evenly across a cycle.

Outside spending

Independent expenditures are spending by other organizations that is not coordinated with the campaign. This money was never received or controlled by Donald Beyer, Jr.. Supporting and opposing spending are kept apart rather than combined into one number, and neither is added to campaign receipts.

Spent supporting

$0
Independent expenditures in the 2022 cycle

Spent opposing

$0
Independent expenditures in the 2022 cycle

What the money was spent on

These categories divide $1,360,678 of itemized spending across 586 transactions, through Dec 31, 2022. That subtotal covers the FEC's published operating-expenditure records, which do not include transfers, loan repayments, refunds, or contributions the campaign made, and is 62.8% of the $2,165,050 in total disbursements reported for the 2022 cycle. Every share below is a share of that subtotal and never of total spending. Purposes were classified under taxonomy spend-1.3.

The difference between that subtotal and total disbursements is spending reported without itemization, which cannot be categorized.

Itemized spending by reported purpose for the 2022 cycle, ranked by amount
PurposeAmount% ShareTransactions
Administration, salary, and overhead $552,69640.6%379
Fundraising and solicitation $262,20619.3%33
Unclassified filing descriptions Spending whose reported purpose could not be placed in the taxonomy. It is counted, not guessed at. $261,79019.2%78
Legal, accounting, and compliance $110,5008.1%25
Events $80,6645.9%38
Consulting, type not specified $68,5005.0%5
Campaign materials $14,1191.0%9
Advertising and media $5,6550.4%11
Travel $3,3510.2%3
Technology and digital services $1,1990.1%5
Classified$1,098,88880.8%
Unclassified filing descriptions$261,79019.2%
Itemized spending categorized here$1,360,678100%586

Political committees that contributed directly

Money received by the authorized campaign committee from PACs and other political committees. This is not outside spending.

This total will usually differ from the PAC figure in the summary above. The summary is what the campaign reported receiving in total; this ranking adds up the individual contributions that were itemized, which is a different record made at a different time. Neither is a correction of the other, and the gap is not an error in either one.

Top 5 of 184 shown $678,412 total · $52,500 shown here

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Sep 6, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Political committees ranked by direct contributions
RankCommitteeAmountShareTransactionsLast activity
1AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE COUNTY & MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES P E O P L E C00011114$12,5001.8%5Dec 15, 2021
2NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INSURANCE AND FINANCIAL ADVISORS POLITICAL ACTION COMM C00005249$10,0001.5%3Aug 24, 2022
3UBS AMERICAS INC. POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (UBS PAC) C00012245$10,0001.5%3Jun 27, 2022
4AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR JUSTICE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (AAJ PAC) C00024521$10,0001.5%5Jul 29, 2022
5AMERICAN FEDERATION OF TEACHERS, AFL-CIO COMMITTEE ON POLITICAL EDUCATION C00028860$10,0001.5%2Mar 23, 2022
Show the complete list of 184 committees →

Who the committees behind this money were

Every committee here is placed by the registration it filed with the FEC for the 2022 cycle: its designation, its committee type, and the organizational form it reported. That is the FEC's own record and involves no judgement by MyRepTracker, so this covers every itemized dollar. A committee's registration can change between cycles, and each cycle is judged by its own.

Contributed to Donald Beyer, Jr.

Committees itemized $678,412 in contributions to this campaign.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2022 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committeeAmount% ShareCommitteesTransactions
Corporate PACs $296,90043.8%86172
Trade association PACs $127,00018.7%3048
Labor union PACs $77,50011.4%2031
Non-connected committees $67,51210.0%2032
Membership organization PACs $67,5009.9%1632
Corporations without capital stock $17,0002.5%57
Cooperative PACs $10,0001.5%12
Leadership PACs $8,5001.3%33
Party committees $5,0000.7%11
Other candidates' committees $1,5000.2%22
Itemized total for this direction$678,412

What interests those committees advance

The FEC publishes no industry or interest field, so unlike the section above this one is a claim MyRepTracker makes. A committee is placed here only when there is a document behind the claim that a reader can open: its own statement of organization, its own published mission statement, or a named third party. Every assignment carries that document on the committee's own page. A committee's name is never evidence of anything.

Categorized is not the same as reviewed. Most of these sectors were assigned by machine from the committee's own filing rather than read by a person. Each committee's own page says which of the two its assignment is, and names the document behind it either way.

Coverage is partial on purpose, and the part that is not covered is shown at full size rather than left out. Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees are excluded outright: their giving is an officeholder's or a party's decision, so no interest label describes it. Categories are taxonomy interest-1.7.

Contributed to Donald Beyer, Jr.

Committees itemized $678,412 in contributions to this campaign. $15,000 of that came from leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees, which are not interest groups. Of the remaining $663,412, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $499,500 and committees not yet categorized account for $163,912.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2022 cycle, ranked by amount
InterestAmount% ShareCommitteesTransactions
Defense Defense $62,5009.4%1445
Securities and investment Finance, insurance, and real estate $51,0007.7%1021
Insurance Finance, insurance, and real estate $49,0007.4%1421
Public sector unions Labor $48,0007.2%921
Real estate Finance, insurance, and real estate $41,0006.2%614
Automotive Transportation $32,0004.8%715
Construction Construction $30,0004.5%69
Physicians and medical specialties Health $25,0003.8%711
Technology Communications and technology $24,0003.6%68
Air transport Transportation $18,5002.8%59
Food and beverage Agriculture $18,0002.7%48
Industrial unions Labor $14,5002.2%44
Lawyers and law firms Professional services $11,0001.7%26
Telecommunications Communications and technology $10,5001.6%38
Electric utilities Energy and natural resources $9,0001.4%19
Accounting Professional services $7,5001.1%33
Building trades unions Labor $7,5001.1%22
Commercial banking Finance, insurance, and real estate $7,5001.1%46
Pharmaceuticals Health $6,5001.0%45
Hospitals and nursing homes Health $6,0000.9%22
Transportation unions Labor $5,0000.8%11
Trucking Transportation $5,0000.8%22
Health insurance Health $4,5000.7%33
Credit unions Finance, insurance, and real estate $2,5000.4%11
Renewable energy Energy and natural resources $2,5000.4%11
Mining Energy and natural resources $1,0000.2%11
Committees not yet categorized $163,91224.7%5688
Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees Not part of the base the shares beside it are taken over. $15,000Not applicable66
Base the shares are taken over$663,412100%
Itemized total for this direction$678,412

Last-minute contributions reported before an election

In the days just before an election, a campaign must tell the FEC within 48 hours about any contribution or loan of $1,000 or more. These notices arrive faster than the regular reporting schedule, and the same money is reported again in the report covering those days. Nothing here is added to receipts: it is a preview of money the ordinary reports will carry, not money beside them.

Reported on notices

$123,400
Across 22 notices, received Jun 2, 2022 to Nov 5, 2022

Still only provisional

$0
Every notice is now covered by a regular report

The most recent notice was filed on Nov 6, 2022. A notice stops being the only record of its money once a regular report covers the same days; those are marked reconciled below and the amounts appear in Donald Beyer, Jr.'s reported totals through the ordinary schedule.

48-hour notices filed for the 2022 cycle, newest first
FiledAmountEntriesCoversStateFiling
Nov 6, 2022$6,0004Nov 5 to Nov 5, 2022Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
Nov 5, 2022$2,5001Nov 4 to Nov 4, 2022Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
Nov 4, 2022$8,8005Nov 3 to Nov 3, 2022Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
Nov 4, 2022$11,0004Nov 2 to Nov 2, 2022Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
Nov 1, 2022$1,0001Oct 31 to Oct 31, 2022Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
Oct 31, 2022$3,0003Oct 30 to Oct 30, 2022Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
Oct 28, 2022$7,0003Oct 27 to Oct 27, 2022Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
Oct 27, 2022$1,0001Oct 26 to Oct 26, 2022Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
Oct 24, 2022$2,0001Oct 23 to Oct 23, 2022Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
Jun 20, 2022$14,0007Jun 18 to Jun 18, 2022Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗

The 10 most recent notices of 22 are listed. The amount and count above cover all of them.

Where the individual money was reported from

Contributions from individuals that the campaign itemized, grouped by the state each contributor gave as their address. Contributions of $200 or less in aggregate are not itemized and carry no address, so they are not here at all. These places account for $1,287,114 of the $1,437,244 this campaign reported from individuals and from transfers by its other authorized committees, across 2,196 itemized contributions.

From Virginia

$849,570
66.0% of the itemized money that has a place

From everywhere else

$437,544
34.0% of the itemized money that has a place

Money from outside Virginia is not money from outside the country, and neither figure is evidence that anything unlawful happened. People may contribute to campaigns in states they do not live in, and United States citizens living abroad may contribute at all.

What kind of place it came from

Itemized individual contributions by kind of place, 2022 cycle
Kind of placeAmountContributionsShare
States and the District of ColumbiaContributors who gave an address in one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia.$1,279,7892,18799.4%
United States territoriesPuerto Rico, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, American Samoa, and the Northern Mariana Islands.$1,00020.1%
Addresses outside the United StatesContributors who gave an address abroad. United States citizens living overseas may contribute, and this figure is not evidence that anyone gave unlawfully.$6,32570.5%

Places, largest first

Top 10 of 27 places shown as bars. Every place is in the table below.

  • Virginia this campaign's state $849,570
  • District of Columbia $114,387
  • New York $74,425
  • Maryland $54,432
  • California $29,975
  • Florida $27,900
  • Kentucky $17,400
  • Massachusetts $16,800
  • South Carolina $14,500
  • Illinois $13,600
Every place with itemized individual contributions reported for the 2022 cycle
PlaceAmountContributionsShare
Virginia this campaign's state$849,5701,78866.0%
District of Columbia$114,3871378.9%
New York$74,425565.8%
Maryland$54,432644.2%
California$29,975192.3%
Florida$27,900162.2%
Kentucky$17,40061.4%
Massachusetts$16,800141.3%
South Carolina$14,500121.1%
Illinois$13,60061.1%
Minnesota$11,85050.9%
Colorado$11,80090.9%
Connecticut$9,60050.7%
Foreign countries$6,32570.5%
Ohio$5,95050.5%
Michigan$5,40030.4%
Texas$4,65040.4%
Oklahoma$3,50030.3%
New Jersey$3,00060.2%
Arkansas$2,90010.2%
New Mexico$2,80010.2%
North Carolina$2,50040.2%
Mississippi$1,00010.1%
Rhode Island$1,00010.1%
Virgin Islands$1,00020.1%
Oregon$55019<0.1%
Montana$3002<0.1%
Reported with a place$1,287,1142,196100%

Contributions are transactions, not people: one contributor giving every month is counted once for each contribution. No contributor's name, address, employer, or occupation is stored or shown anywhere on this site.

How this compares

Compared with U.S. House campaigns in Virginia, 2022 cycle: 31 campaigns with a complete Federal Election Commission record for the cycle. This is a position in that group, not a score, a grade, or a judgement about the campaign.

Total receipts

Everything the authorized campaign committee took in for this cycle, including contributions, loans, and transfers.

  • This campaign $2,121,791
  • Cohort median $382,045
Total receipts for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Virginia, 2022 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$2,121,791
Lowest in the cohort$25
25th percentile$79,013
Median$382,045
75th percentile$2,121,791
Highest in the cohort$10,795,195
Campaigns counted31

23 of the 31 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 74th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Share of receipts from political committees

Direct contributions from PACs and other political committees as a share of total receipts. Campaigns reporting no receipts at all have no share and are left out of this measure.

  • This campaign 31.7%
  • Cohort median 4.3%
Share of receipts from political committees for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Virginia, 2022 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign31.7%
Lowest in the cohort0.0%
25th percentile0.0%
Median4.3%
75th percentile31.7%
Highest in the cohort63.8%
Campaigns counted31

23 of the 31 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 74th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Cash on hand

The balance reported at the end of the coverage period. Campaigns report at different times, so this compares balances as of each campaign's own coverage end.

  • This campaign $596,763
  • Cohort median $25,511
Cash on hand for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Virginia, 2022 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$596,763
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$25,511
75th percentile$267,341
Highest in the cohort$3,152,499
Campaigns counted31

29 of the 31 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 94th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending supporting

Independent expenditures by other organizations supporting the candidate. This money was never received or controlled by the campaign.

  • This campaign $0
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending supporting for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Virginia, 2022 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$0
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$31,475
Highest in the cohort$4,039,977
Campaigns counted31

0 of the 31 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 0th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending opposing

Independent expenditures by other organizations opposing the candidate, not coordinated with any campaign.

  • This campaign $0
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending opposing for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Virginia, 2022 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$0
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$1,133
Highest in the cohort$9,062,792
Campaigns counted31

0 of the 31 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 0th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Every comparison is drawn from one two-year cycle and one office. Only campaigns whose FEC record for that cycle is complete are counted; the rest are reported beside the cohort and are never counted as zero. One authorized committee is counted once however many candidacies report it, so where a candidate's committees are all reported by another FEC record, that record supplies the figures for both. A campaign is never compared with another cycle, with a career total, or with a candidate for a different office.

What these numbers mean

Receipts are not the same as contributions
Total receipts include everything the campaign took in, such as contributions, loans, and transfers. Contributions are only the money given by people and committees.
Direct contributions are not outside spending
A direct contribution is money received by the campaign's own authorized committee. An independent expenditure is money another organization spent on its own, without coordinating with the campaign. The Federal Election Commission treats these as different activities, and so does this page.
The organizations named here are political committees
Direct rankings count what one political committee gave to a campaign; outside-spending rankings count what a committee spent independently. A separate conduit section groups individual contributions only when the campaign's memo record supplies a registered conduit committee's FEC ID. It never attributes donors to employers or interest groups, and it never exposes contributor names. Sites using broader attribution rules may therefore report different organization totals.
A cycle may be only partly reported
Filings arrive throughout a two-year cycle. A current cycle shows only what has been filed and processed through the coverage date shown above, so it is not comparable with a finished cycle.
This view is cycle specific
It covers the 2022 two-year cycle only.

Source: Federal Election Commission ↗. MyRepTracker ingests FEC records directly and does not add its own influence, risk, or corruption score.