Home South Carolina Elections 2026 James Clyburn

James Clyburn

Democratic candidate · 2026 general election · South Carolina

Photo of James Clyburn

James Clyburn

Democratic

Currently serving in the U.S. House District 6.

Races

Campaign finance

FEC data through Jun 30, 2026. Covering the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Every stored cycle for James Clyburn is on their legislator profile →

The 2026 cycle at a glance

Total receipts
$1,225,051
Everything the campaign took in
Individual contributions
$457,422
Itemized and unitemized split not reported
PAC and other committees
$720,491
Received from political committees
Campaign spending
$1,429,385
Total disbursements
Cash on hand
$1,634,793
At the end of the reporting period

Where the money came from

These categories divide total receipts of $1,225,051 exactly once, so they add back up to the reported total.

Receipts by funding category for the 2026 cycle
SourceAmountShare of receipts
Individual contributions$457,42237.3%
PAC and other committee contributions$720,49158.8%
Party committee contributions$00.0%
Candidate self-funding$00.0%
Loans$00.0%
Other receipts, including transfers$47,1383.8%
Total receipts$1,225,051100%

Financial position

Cash, debt, refunds, loans, and transfers as reported through Jun 30, 2026 for the 2026 cycle. These are factual reported values, not a judgement about whether a campaign is healthy, viable, or strong. Independent expenditures are never added to or subtracted from any of them: that money was never the campaign's.

Reported financial position for the 2026 cycle
MeasureAmount
Cash on hand at coverage end$1,634,793
Debts and obligations owed by the committee$0
Debts and obligations owed to the committeeNot reported
Contributions refunded to individuals$1,658
Contributions refunded to committees$0
Transfers received from other authorized committeesAlready raised money moving between the candidate's own committees, not new fundraising.$20,895
Transfers made to other authorized committees$0
Repayments of candidate loans$0
Repayments of other loans$0

Calculated from the reported values

Each row below is arithmetic MyRepTracker performed on the values above. Where the FEC published the figure itself, the row says so and no calculation was made.

Values calculated from the reported financial position, with the formula for each
MeasureAmountHow it was produced
Contributions net of refunds$1,176,255Calculated as individual + committee + party + candidate contributions, minus contributions refunded to individuals and committees.
Operating expenditures net of offsetsNot reportedAn input this calculation needs is not published by the source behind this record.
Outstanding candidate loans$0Calculated as loans received from the candidate minus repayments of those loans.
Other outstanding loans$0Calculated as other loans received minus repayments of those loans.
Total contributions refunded$1,658Calculated as refunds to individuals plus refunds to committees.

Change since the previous filing

Both columns come from committee C00255562, so the two periods are comparable. A change is the difference between what 12P 2026 reported and what Q2 2026 reported, and the direction is stated in words rather than shown only as a sign. 12P 2026 reported through May 20, 2026 and Q2 2026 through Jun 30, 2026.

Financial position at the two most recent controlling filings of committee C00255562
Measure12P 2026Reported through May 20, 2026Q2 2026Reported through Jun 30, 2026Change
Cash on hand at period end$1,445,220$1,634,793Up $189,572
Debts owed by the committee$0$0No change
Contribution refunds in the period$5$88Up $83

Cash compared with one period's spending

Cash on hand of $1,634,793 set beside the $147,163 this campaign spent during Q2 2026, through Jun 30, 2026, which is 11.1 times that period's spending. This is a ratio between two reported numbers over one named period. It is not a forecast of how long the money will last, and campaigns do not spend evenly across a cycle.

Outside spending

Independent expenditures are spending by other organizations that is not coordinated with the campaign. This money was never received or controlled by James Clyburn. Supporting and opposing spending are kept apart rather than combined into one number, and neither is added to campaign receipts.

Spent supporting

$0
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

Spent opposing

$0
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

What the money was spent on

These categories divide $926,036 of itemized spending across 370 transactions, through Jun 30, 2026. That subtotal covers the FEC's published operating-expenditure records, which do not include transfers, loan repayments, refunds, or contributions the campaign made, and is 64.8% of the $1,429,385 in total disbursements reported for the 2026 cycle. Every share below is a share of that subtotal and never of total spending. Purposes were classified under taxonomy spend-1.3.

The difference between that subtotal and total disbursements is spending reported without itemization, which cannot be categorized.

Itemized spending by reported purpose for the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
PurposeAmount% ShareTransactions
Unclassified filing descriptions Spending whose reported purpose could not be placed in the taxonomy. It is counted, not guessed at. $476,51651.5%59
Fundraising and solicitation $257,32327.8%38
Events $111,91512.1%44
Administration, salary, and overhead $34,5723.7%217
Polling and research $24,8002.7%1
Campaign materials $10,7311.2%2
Consulting, type not specified $4,6000.5%2
Legal, accounting, and compliance $2,4700.3%1
Travel $2,4090.3%4
Advertising and media $7000.1%2
Classified$449,52048.5%
Unclassified filing descriptions$476,51651.5%
Itemized spending categorized here$926,036100%370

Political committees that contributed directly

Money received by the authorized campaign committee from PACs and other political committees. This is not outside spending.

This total will usually differ from the PAC figure in the summary above. The summary is what the campaign reported receiving in total; this ranking adds up the individual contributions that were itemized, which is a different record made at a different time. Neither is a correction of the other, and the gap is not an error in either one.

Top 5 of 193 shown $756,740 total · $50,000 shown here

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Sep 6, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Political committees ranked by direct contributions
RankCommitteeAmountShareTransactionsLast activity
1INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SHEET METAL, AIR, RAIL AND TRANSPORTATION WORKERS POLITICAL ACTION LEAGUE C00007542$10,0001.3%1Aug 28, 2025
2UNION PACIFIC CORP. FUND FOR EFFECTIVE GOVERNMENT C00010470$10,0001.3%3May 19, 2026
3PINNACLE WEST CAPITAL CORPORATION PAC C00015933$10,0001.3%4Mar 30, 2026
4AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR JUSTICE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (AAJ PAC) C00024521$10,0001.3%4May 6, 2026
5AMERICAN FEDERATION OF TEACHERS, AFL-CIO COMMITTEE ON POLITICAL EDUCATION C00028860$10,0001.3%2Jan 23, 2026
Show the complete list of 193 committees →

Who the committees behind this money were

Every committee here is placed by the registration it filed with the FEC for the 2026 cycle: its designation, its committee type, and the organizational form it reported. That is the FEC's own record and involves no judgement by MyRepTracker, so this covers every itemized dollar. A committee's registration can change between cycles, and each cycle is judged by its own.

Contributed to James Clyburn

Committees itemized $756,740 in contributions to this campaign.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committeeAmount% ShareCommitteesTransactions
Corporate PACs $401,24053.0%107179
Trade association PACs $148,50019.6%3559
Labor union PACs $102,50013.5%2030
Membership organization PACs $44,5005.9%1019
Non-connected committees $41,7505.5%1422
Cooperative PACs $12,0001.6%45
Leadership PACs $5,2500.7%22
Corporations without capital stock $1,0000.1%11
Itemized total for this direction$756,740

What interests those committees advance

The FEC publishes no industry or interest field, so unlike the section above this one is a claim MyRepTracker makes. A committee is placed here only when there is a document behind the claim that a reader can open: its own statement of organization, its own published mission statement, or a named third party. Every assignment carries that document on the committee's own page. A committee's name is never evidence of anything.

Categorized is not the same as reviewed. Most of these sectors were assigned by machine from the committee's own filing rather than read by a person. Each committee's own page says which of the two its assignment is, and names the document behind it either way.

Coverage is partial on purpose, and the part that is not covered is shown at full size rather than left out. Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees are excluded outright: their giving is an officeholder's or a party's decision, so no interest label describes it. Categories are taxonomy interest-1.7.

Contributed to James Clyburn

Committees itemized $756,740 in contributions to this campaign. $5,250 of that came from leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees, which are not interest groups. Of the remaining $751,490, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $583,490 and committees not yet categorized account for $168,000.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
InterestAmount% ShareCommitteesTransactions
Electric utilities Energy and natural resources $69,5009.2%1734
Air transport Transportation $40,5005.4%1120
Insurance Finance, insurance, and real estate $40,5005.4%914
Public sector unions Labor $38,5005.1%712
Defense Defense $36,5004.9%922
Commercial banking Finance, insurance, and real estate $35,5004.7%1014
Technology Communications and technology $35,3844.7%1118
Food and beverage Agriculture $30,6064.1%610
Construction Construction $28,0003.7%612
Real estate Finance, insurance, and real estate $26,0003.5%410
Telecommunications Communications and technology $25,5003.4%511
Securities and investment Finance, insurance, and real estate $23,0003.1%710
Industrial unions Labor $22,0002.9%46
Agribusiness Agriculture $17,5002.3%78
Lawyers and law firms Professional services $17,5002.3%47
Building trades unions Labor $15,0002.0%34
Transportation unions Labor $15,0002.0%22
Automotive Transportation $13,0001.7%34
Media and entertainment Communications and technology $10,5001.4%46
Trucking Transportation $10,0001.3%24
Physicians and medical specialties Health $9,5001.3%35
Credit unions Finance, insurance, and real estate $5,0000.7%12
Health insurance Health $5,0000.7%22
Oil and gas Energy and natural resources $5,0000.7%12
Pharmaceuticals Health $4,5000.6%44
Hospitals and nursing homes Health $3,5000.5%12
Mining Energy and natural resources $1,0000.1%11
Committees not yet categorized $168,00022.4%4769
Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees Not part of the base the shares beside it are taken over. $5,250Not applicable22
Base the shares are taken over$751,490100%
Itemized total for this direction$756,740

Last-minute contributions reported before an election

In the days just before an election, a campaign must tell the FEC within 48 hours about any contribution or loan of $1,000 or more. These notices arrive faster than the regular reporting schedule, and the same money is reported again in the report covering those days. Nothing here is added to receipts: it is a preview of money the ordinary reports will carry, not money beside them.

Reported on notices

$76,500
Across 7 notices, received May 25, 2026 to Jun 6, 2026

Still only provisional

$0
Every notice is now covered by a regular report

The most recent notice was filed on Jun 8, 2026. A notice stops being the only record of its money once a regular report covers the same days; those are marked reconciled below and the amounts appear in James Clyburn's reported totals through the ordinary schedule.

48-hour notices filed for the 2026 cycle, newest first
FiledAmountEntriesCoversStateFiling
Jun 8, 2026 amendment$19,0006Jun 6 to Jun 6, 2026Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
Jun 4, 2026$5,0002Jun 4 to Jun 4, 2026Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
Jun 4, 2026$2,5001Jun 2 to Jun 2, 2026Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
Jun 2, 2026$24,0009Jun 1 to Jun 1, 2026Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
Jun 1, 2026$15,5007May 30 to May 30, 2026Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
May 29, 2026$6,0002May 28 to May 28, 2026Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
May 27, 2026$4,5002May 25 to May 25, 2026Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗

Where the individual money was reported from

Contributions from individuals that the campaign itemized, grouped by the state each contributor gave as their address. Contributions of $200 or less in aggregate are not itemized and carry no address, so they are not here at all. These places account for $285,699 of the $478,317 this campaign reported from individuals and from transfers by its other authorized committees, across 1,443 itemized contributions.

From South Carolina

$100,644
35.2% of the itemized money that has a place

From everywhere else

$185,055
64.8% of the itemized money that has a place

Money from outside South Carolina is not money from outside the country, and neither figure is evidence that anything unlawful happened. People may contribute to campaigns in states they do not live in, and United States citizens living abroad may contribute at all.

What kind of place it came from

Itemized individual contributions by kind of place, 2026 cycle
Kind of placeAmountContributionsShare
States and the District of ColumbiaContributors who gave an address in one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia.$282,1991,44298.8%
United States territoriesPuerto Rico, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, American Samoa, and the Northern Mariana Islands.$3,50011.2%

Places, largest first

Top 10 of 39 places shown as bars. Every place is in the table below.

  • South Carolina this campaign's state $100,644
  • District of Columbia $58,185
  • Maryland $29,990
  • Virginia $15,988
  • California $10,647
  • Illinois $8,073
  • Texas $7,216
  • New York $6,178
  • North Carolina $4,790
  • Pennsylvania $4,540
Every place with itemized individual contributions reported for the 2026 cycle
PlaceAmountContributionsShare
South Carolina this campaign's state$100,64434135.2%
District of Columbia$58,1859020.4%
Maryland$29,9909210.5%
Virginia$15,988325.6%
California$10,6471063.7%
Illinois$8,07382.8%
Texas$7,216402.5%
New York$6,178352.2%
North Carolina$4,790451.7%
Pennsylvania$4,540341.6%
Massachusetts$4,323561.5%
Washington$4,028581.4%
Puerto Rico$3,50011.2%
Louisiana$2,550230.9%
Missouri$2,477150.9%
Ohio$2,364950.8%
Florida$2,200450.8%
Georgia$2,000260.7%
New Jersey$1,837780.6%
Wisconsin$1,802490.6%
Indiana$1,575150.6%
Delaware$1,45050.5%
Colorado$1,206190.4%
New Mexico$1,17770.4%
Tennessee$1,045340.4%
Alabama$1,01520.4%
Arkansas$1,00010.4%
Michigan$645170.2%
Oklahoma$62540.2%
Minnesota$50010.2%
Maine$440100.2%
Connecticut$35020.1%
New Hampshire$304100.1%
Arizona$27570.1%
Kansas$25010.1%
Nebraska$17570.1%
Iowa$150220.1%
Kentucky$1359<0.1%
Oregon$501<0.1%
Reported with a place$285,6991,443100%

Contributions are transactions, not people: one contributor giving every month is counted once for each contribution. No contributor's name, address, employer, or occupation is stored or shown anywhere on this site.

How this compares

Compared with U.S. House campaigns in South Carolina, 2026 cycle: 45 campaigns with a complete Federal Election Commission record for the cycle. This is a position in that group, not a score, a grade, or a judgement about the campaign.

Total receipts

Everything the authorized campaign committee took in for this cycle, including contributions, loans, and transfers.

  • This campaign $1,225,051
  • Cohort median $33,589
Total receipts for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in South Carolina, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$1,225,051
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$10,464
Median$33,589
75th percentile$452,863
Highest in the cohort$2,279,585
Campaigns counted45

40 of the 45 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 89th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Share of receipts from political committees

Direct contributions from PACs and other political committees as a share of total receipts. Campaigns reporting no receipts at all have no share and are left out of this measure.

  • This campaign 58.8%
  • Cohort median 0.0%
Share of receipts from political committees for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in South Carolina, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign58.8%
Lowest in the cohort0.0%
25th percentile0.0%
Median0.0%
75th percentile4.3%
Highest in the cohort62.8%
Campaigns counted44

42 of the 44 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 95th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Cash on hand

The balance reported at the end of the coverage period. Campaigns report at different times, so this compares balances as of each campaign's own coverage end.

  • This campaign $1,634,793
  • Cohort median $4,380
Cash on hand for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in South Carolina, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$1,634,793
Lowest in the cohort-$3,209
25th percentile$221
Median$4,380
75th percentile$77,225
Highest in the cohort$1,634,793
Campaigns counted45

44 of the 45 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 98th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending supporting

Independent expenditures by other organizations supporting the candidate. This money was never received or controlled by the campaign.

  • This campaign $0
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending supporting for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in South Carolina, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$0
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$999,165
Campaigns counted45

0 of the 45 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 0th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending opposing

Independent expenditures by other organizations opposing the candidate, not coordinated with any campaign.

  • This campaign $0
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending opposing for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in South Carolina, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$0
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$285,256
Campaigns counted45

0 of the 45 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 0th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Every comparison is drawn from one two-year cycle and one office. Only campaigns whose FEC record for that cycle is complete are counted; the rest are reported beside the cohort and are never counted as zero. One authorized committee is counted once however many candidacies report it, so where a candidate's committees are all reported by another FEC record, that record supplies the figures for both. A campaign is never compared with another cycle, with a career total, or with a candidate for a different office.

What these numbers mean

Receipts are not the same as contributions
Total receipts include everything the campaign took in, such as contributions, loans, and transfers. Contributions are only the money given by people and committees.
Direct contributions are not outside spending
A direct contribution is money received by the campaign's own authorized committee. An independent expenditure is money another organization spent on its own, without coordinating with the campaign. The Federal Election Commission treats these as different activities, and so does this page.
The organizations named here are political committees
Direct rankings count what one political committee gave to a campaign; outside-spending rankings count what a committee spent independently. A separate conduit section groups individual contributions only when the campaign's memo record supplies a registered conduit committee's FEC ID. It never attributes donors to employers or interest groups, and it never exposes contributor names. Sites using broader attribution rules may therefore report different organization totals.
A cycle may be only partly reported
Filings arrive throughout a two-year cycle. A current cycle shows only what has been filed and processed through the coverage date shown above, so it is not comparable with a finished cycle.
This view is cycle specific
It covers the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Source: Federal Election Commission ↗. MyRepTracker ingests FEC records directly and does not add its own influence, risk, or corruption score.