Bill Huizenga
Republican candidate · 2022 general election · Michigan
Bill Huizenga
Republican
Races
- U.S. U.S. House District 4 · challenger
Campaign finance
FEC data through Dec 31, 2022. Covering the 2022 two-year cycle only.
The 2022 cycle at a glance
Where the money came from
These categories divide total receipts of $3,073,021 exactly once, so they add back up to the reported total.
| Source | Amount | Share of receipts |
|---|---|---|
| Individual contributions | $1,228,624 | 40.0% |
| PAC and other committee contributions | $1,618,081 | 52.7% |
| Party committee contributions | $0 | 0.0% |
| Candidate self-funding | $0 | 0.0% |
| Loans | $0 | 0.0% |
| Other receipts, including transfers | $226,316 | 7.4% |
| Total receipts | $3,073,021 | 100% |
Financial position
Cash, debt, refunds, loans, and transfers as reported through Dec 31, 2022 for the 2022 cycle. These are factual reported values, not a judgement about whether a campaign is healthy, viable, or strong. Independent expenditures are never added to or subtracted from any of them: that money was never the campaign's.
| Measure | Amount |
|---|---|
| Cash on hand at coverage end | $101,469 |
| Debts and obligations owed by the committee | $0 |
| Debts and obligations owed to the committee | Not reported |
| Contributions refunded to individuals | $28,130 |
| Contributions refunded to committees | $9,100 |
| Transfers received from other authorized committeesAlready raised money moving between the candidate's own committees, not new fundraising. | $219,470 |
| Transfers made to other authorized committees | $3,169 |
| Repayments of candidate loans | $0 |
| Repayments of other loans | $0 |
Calculated from the reported values
Each row below is arithmetic MyRepTracker performed on the values above. Where the FEC published the figure itself, the row says so and no calculation was made.
| Measure | Amount | How it was produced |
|---|---|---|
| Contributions net of refunds | $2,809,475 | Calculated as individual + committee + party + candidate contributions, minus contributions refunded to individuals and committees. |
| Operating expenditures net of offsets | Not reported | An input this calculation needs is not published by the source behind this record. |
| Outstanding candidate loans | $0 | Calculated as loans received from the candidate minus repayments of those loans. |
| Other outstanding loans | $0 | Calculated as other loans received minus repayments of those loans. |
| Total contributions refunded | $37,230 | Calculated as refunds to individuals plus refunds to committees. |
Change since the previous filing
Both columns come from committee C00459297, so the two periods are comparable. A change is the difference between what 30G 2022 reported and what YE 2022 reported, and the direction is stated in words rather than shown only as a sign. 30G 2022 reported through Nov 28, 2022 and YE 2022 through Dec 31, 2022.
| Measure | 30G 2022Reported through Nov 28, 2022 | YE 2022Reported through Dec 31, 2022 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cash on hand at period end | $308,080 | $101,469 | Down $206,611 |
| Debts owed by the committee | $0 | $0 | No change |
| Contribution refunds in the period | $5,792 | $2,900 | Down $2,892 |
Cash compared with one period's spending
Cash on hand of $101,469 set beside the $211,169 this campaign spent during YE 2022, through Dec 31, 2022, which is 0.5 times that period's spending. This is a ratio between two reported numbers over one named period. It is not a forecast of how long the money will last, and campaigns do not spend evenly across a cycle.
Outside spending
Independent expenditures are spending by other organizations that is not coordinated with the campaign. This money was never received or controlled by Bill Huizenga. Supporting and opposing spending are kept apart rather than combined into one number, and neither is added to campaign receipts.
Spent supporting
Spent opposing
What the money was spent on
These categories divide $3,121,001 of itemized spending across 825 transactions, through Dec 29, 2022. That subtotal covers the FEC's published operating-expenditure records, which do not include transfers, loan repayments, refunds, or contributions the campaign made, and is 90.7% of the $3,441,250 in total disbursements reported for the 2022 cycle. Every share below is a share of that subtotal and never of total spending. Purposes were classified under taxonomy spend-1.3.
Two things separate that subtotal from total disbursements. Spending reported without itemization cannot be categorized. And the itemized records run only to Dec 29, 2022, while the totals above cover through Dec 31, 2022, so the last stretch of the reporting period is summarized but not yet broken down here.
| Purpose | Amount | % Share | Transactions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Administration, salary, and overhead | $2,825,307 | 90.5% | 729 |
| Fundraising and solicitation | $246,748 | 7.9% | 41 |
| Events | $19,982 | 0.6% | 27 |
| Advertising and media | $16,335 | 0.5% | 11 |
| Travel | $7,442 | 0.2% | 13 |
| Consulting, type not specified | $4,750 | 0.2% | 1 |
| Unclassified filing descriptions Spending whose reported purpose could not be placed in the taxonomy. It is counted, not guessed at. | $437 | 0.0% | 3 |
| Classified | $3,120,564 | 100.0% | |
| Unclassified filing descriptions | $437 | 0.0% | |
| Itemized spending categorized here | $3,121,001 | 100% | 825 |
Political committees that contributed directly
Money received by the authorized campaign committee from PACs and other political committees. This is not outside spending.
This total will usually differ from the PAC figure in the summary above. The summary is what the campaign reported receiving in total; this ranking adds up the individual contributions that were itemized, which is a different record made at a different time. Neither is a correction of the other, and the gap is not an error in either one.
Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Sep 6, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.
| Rank | Committee | Amount | Share | Transactions | Last activity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | FARMERS GROUP, INC., FARMERS INSURANCE EXCHANGE, FIRE INSURANCE EXCHANGE AND TRUCK INSURANCE EXCHANGE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE AKA FARMERS INSURANCE PAC C00135681 | $20,000 | 1.2% | 6 | Dec 29, 2022 |
| 2 | CMS ENERGY CORPORATION EMPLOYEES FOR BETTER GOVERNMENT- FEDERAL C00075473 | $15,000 | 0.9% | 4 | Nov 4, 2022 |
| 3 | INVESCO HOLDING COMPANY (US), INC. EMPLOYEE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00253369 | $15,000 | 0.9% | 3 | Mar 4, 2022 |
| 4 | AMERICAN BANKERS ASSOCIATION PAC (BANKPAC) C00004275 | $12,500 | 0.7% | 4 | Sep 16, 2022 |
| 5 | INVESTMENT COMPANY INSTITUTE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (ICI PAC) C00105981 | $11,000 | 0.7% | 4 | Dec 5, 2022 |
Organizations spending independently
Supporting Bill Huizenga
Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Sep 6, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.
| Rank | Committee | Amount | Share | Transactions | Last activity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | MICHIGAN CONSERVATIVE ACTION C00806760 | $64,621 | 75.1% | 9 | Nov 4, 2022 |
| 2 | National Association of Realtors Political Action Committee C00030718 | $12,723 | 14.8% | 2 | Sep 27, 2022 |
| 3 | Patriots Fund C00490896 | $8,758 | 10.2% | 1 | Nov 1, 2022 |
Opposing Bill Huizenga
What that outside spending purchased
Each independent expenditure carries a short description the spending committee wrote, and these categories are those descriptions sorted under taxonomy outside-1.0. Spending supporting Bill Huizenga and spending opposing them are broken down separately and never combined, and every share below is a share of that one direction's total.
The largest category is usually "Advertising, medium not specified". That is not a leftover: it is spending the committee described only as a media buy or as advertising, without saying whether it aired on television, ran online, or arrived in the mail. MyRepTracker reports what was filed rather than assigning it a medium.
Supporting Bill Huizenga
| Purpose | Amount | % Share | Transactions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Digital and online advertising | $46,078 | 53.5% | 4 |
| Phone calls and text messages | $39,304 | 45.6% | 7 |
| Staff, administration, and overhead | $720 | 0.8% | 1 |
| Classified | $86,101 | 100.0% | |
| Unclassified filing descriptions | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Total independent spending | $86,101 | 100% | 12 |
Opposing Bill Huizenga
Who the committees behind this money were
Every committee here is placed by the registration it filed with the FEC for the 2022 cycle: its designation, its committee type, and the organizational form it reported. That is the FEC's own record and involves no judgement by MyRepTracker, so this covers every itemized dollar. A committee's registration can change between cycles, and each cycle is judged by its own.
Contributed to Bill Huizenga
Committees itemized $1,687,065 in contributions to this campaign.
| Kind of committee | Amount | % Share | Committees | Transactions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Corporate PACs | $791,558 | 46.9% | 158 | 351 |
| Trade association PACs | $355,793 | 21.1% | 66 | 148 |
| Leadership PACs | $217,100 | 12.9% | 59 | 75 |
| Membership organization PACs | $115,500 | 6.8% | 19 | 47 |
| Non-connected committees | $112,614 | 6.7% | 29 | 52 |
| Corporations without capital stock | $47,000 | 2.8% | 6 | 19 |
| Other candidates' committees | $38,000 | 2.3% | 18 | 20 |
| Cooperative PACs | $7,500 | 0.4% | 3 | 3 |
| Labor union PACs | $2,000 | 0.1% | 1 | 1 |
| Itemized total for this direction | $1,687,065 |
Spent supporting Bill Huizenga
Committees itemized $86,101 in independent spending supporting Bill Huizenga.
| Kind of committee | Amount | % Share | Committees | Transactions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Non-connected committees | $73,379 | 85.2% | 2 | 10 |
| Membership organization PACs | $12,723 | 14.8% | 1 | 2 |
| Itemized total for this direction | $86,101 |
What interests those committees advance
The FEC publishes no industry or interest field, so unlike the section above this one is a claim MyRepTracker makes. A committee is placed here only when there is a document behind the claim that a reader can open: its own statement of organization, its own published mission statement, or a named third party. Every assignment carries that document on the committee's own page. A committee's name is never evidence of anything.
Categorized is not the same as reviewed. Most of these sectors were assigned by machine from the committee's own filing rather than read by a person. Each committee's own page says which of the two its assignment is, and names the document behind it either way.
Coverage is partial on purpose, and the part that is not covered is shown at full size rather than left out. Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees are excluded outright: their giving is an officeholder's or a party's decision, so no interest label describes it. Categories are taxonomy interest-1.7.
Contributed to Bill Huizenga
Committees itemized $1,687,065 in contributions to this campaign. $255,100 of that came from leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees, which are not interest groups. Of the remaining $1,431,965, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $1,154,458 and committees not yet categorized account for $277,507.
| Interest | Amount | % Share | Committees | Transactions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Securities and investment Finance, insurance, and real estate | $278,900 | 19.5% | 38 | 113 |
| Insurance Finance, insurance, and real estate | $245,500 | 17.1% | 45 | 110 |
| Commercial banking Finance, insurance, and real estate | $208,000 | 14.5% | 36 | 83 |
| Real estate Finance, insurance, and real estate | $94,500 | 6.6% | 15 | 38 |
| Agribusiness Agriculture | $44,000 | 3.1% | 9 | 18 |
| Electric utilities Energy and natural resources | $38,500 | 2.7% | 8 | 14 |
| Construction Construction | $31,500 | 2.2% | 6 | 11 |
| Telecommunications Communications and technology | $26,500 | 1.9% | 5 | 12 |
| Food and beverage Agriculture | $22,858 | 1.6% | 8 | 14 |
| Automotive Transportation | $22,500 | 1.6% | 4 | 10 |
| Credit unions Finance, insurance, and real estate | $22,000 | 1.5% | 3 | 7 |
| Accounting Professional services | $13,500 | 0.9% | 3 | 6 |
| Air transport Transportation | $12,500 | 0.9% | 2 | 5 |
| Defense Defense | $12,500 | 0.9% | 4 | 9 |
| Oil and gas Energy and natural resources | $12,000 | 0.8% | 3 | 7 |
| Pro-Israel Ideological and single-issue | $10,000 | 0.7% | 1 | 3 |
| Pro-Republican Party Ideological and single-issue | $10,000 | 0.7% | 1 | 3 |
| Health insurance Health | $9,000 | 0.6% | 2 | 5 |
| Media and entertainment Communications and technology | $7,500 | 0.5% | 1 | 3 |
| Mining Energy and natural resources | $7,500 | 0.5% | 1 | 2 |
| Technology Communications and technology | $6,500 | 0.5% | 4 | 5 |
| Lawyers and law firms Professional services | $5,000 | 0.3% | 1 | 4 |
| Pharmaceuticals Health | $4,500 | 0.3% | 2 | 3 |
| Trucking Transportation | $3,200 | 0.2% | 1 | 2 |
| Hospitals and nursing homes Health | $2,500 | 0.2% | 1 | 1 |
| Transportation unions Labor | $2,000 | 0.1% | 1 | 1 |
| Cryptocurrency and blockchain Finance, insurance, and real estate | $1,500 | 0.1% | 1 | 1 |
| Committees not yet categorized | $277,507 | 19.4% | 76 | 131 |
| Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees Not part of the base the shares beside it are taken over. | $255,100 | Not applicable | 77 | 95 |
| Base the shares are taken over | $1,431,965 | 100% | ||
| Itemized total for this direction | $1,687,065 |
Spent supporting Bill Huizenga
Committees itemized $86,101 in independent spending supporting Bill Huizenga. Of that, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $12,723 and committees not yet categorized account for $73,379.
| Interest | Amount | % Share | Committees | Transactions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Real estate Finance, insurance, and real estate | $12,723 | 14.8% | 1 | 2 |
| Committees not yet categorized | $73,379 | 85.2% | 2 | 10 |
| Base the shares are taken over | $86,101 | 100% | ||
| Itemized total for this direction | $86,101 |
Last-minute contributions reported before an election
In the days just before an election, a campaign must tell the FEC within 48 hours about any contribution or loan of $1,000 or more. These notices arrive faster than the regular reporting schedule, and the same money is reported again in the report covering those days. Nothing here is added to receipts: it is a preview of money the ordinary reports will carry, not money beside them.
Reported on notices
Still only provisional
The most recent notice was filed on Nov 7, 2022. A notice stops being the only record of its money once a regular report covers the same days; those are marked reconciled below and the amounts appear in Bill Huizenga's reported totals through the ordinary schedule.
| Filed | Amount | Entries | Covers | State | Filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nov 7, 2022 | $6,800 | 3 | Nov 5 to Nov 5, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Nov 4, 2022 | $91,117 | 31 | Nov 2 to Nov 4, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Nov 2, 2022 | $49,100 | 22 | Oct 31 to Nov 1, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Oct 31, 2022 | $5,400 | 2 | Oct 29 to Oct 29, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Oct 28, 2022 | $33,300 | 16 | Oct 26 to Oct 28, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Oct 28, 2022 amendment | $42,900 | 18 | Oct 24 to Oct 25, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Oct 21, 2022 | $2,000 | 1 | Oct 20 to Oct 20, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Jul 29, 2022 | $10,300 | 4 | Jul 28 to Jul 29, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Jul 27, 2022 | $4,500 | 2 | Jul 25 to Jul 25, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Jul 20, 2022 | $14,100 | 5 | Jul 18 to Jul 19, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
The 10 most recent notices of 11 are listed. The amount and count above cover all of them.
Where the individual money was reported from
Contributions from individuals that the campaign itemized, grouped by the state each contributor gave as their address. Contributions of $200 or less in aggregate are not itemized and carry no address, so they are not here at all. These places account for $1,192,393 of the $1,448,094 this campaign reported from individuals and from transfers by its other authorized committees, across 1,085 itemized contributions.
From Michigan
From everywhere else
Money from outside Michigan is not money from outside the country, and neither figure is evidence that anything unlawful happened. People may contribute to campaigns in states they do not live in, and United States citizens living abroad may contribute at all.
What kind of place it came from
| Kind of place | Amount | Contributions | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| States and the District of ColumbiaContributors who gave an address in one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia. | $1,188,493 | 1,083 | 99.9% |
| United States territoriesPuerto Rico, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, American Samoa, and the Northern Mariana Islands. | $1,000 | 1 | 0.1% |
| Not placedContributions the FEC could not attribute to a place. They are reported here and are never assigned to a state or counted in the in-state and out-of-state split. | $2,900 | 1 | Not counted |
Places, largest first
Top 10 of 23 places shown as bars. Every place is in the table below.
| Place | Amount | Contributions | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Michigan this campaign's state | $885,873 | 847 | 74.5% |
| New York | $69,505 | 38 | 5.8% |
| Virginia | $47,400 | 45 | 4.0% |
| District of Columbia | $47,350 | 39 | 4.0% |
| Florida | $38,405 | 35 | 3.2% |
| Maryland | $26,405 | 21 | 2.2% |
| Kentucky | $19,200 | 17 | 1.6% |
| Texas | $12,800 | 7 | 1.1% |
| California | $12,200 | 12 | 1.0% |
| Illinois | $8,150 | 6 | 0.7% |
| New Jersey | $4,255 | 5 | 0.4% |
| Nebraska | $3,400 | 2 | 0.3% |
| Arkansas | $2,900 | 1 | 0.2% |
| North Carolina | $2,900 | 1 | 0.2% |
| Not reported not placed | $2,900 | 1 | Not counted |
| Connecticut | $2,500 | 1 | 0.2% |
| Colorado | $2,000 | 1 | 0.2% |
| Pennsylvania | $1,000 | 1 | 0.1% |
| South Carolina | $1,000 | 1 | 0.1% |
| Virgin Islands | $1,000 | 1 | 0.1% |
| Indiana | $500 | 1 | <0.1% |
| Ohio | $500 | 1 | <0.1% |
| Minnesota | $250 | 1 | <0.1% |
| Reported with a place | $1,189,493 | 1,084 | 100% |
Contributions are transactions, not people: one contributor giving every month is counted once for each contribution. No contributor's name, address, employer, or occupation is stored or shown anywhere on this site.
- $2,900 could not be attributed to a place and is left out of the in-state and out-of-state figures rather than assigned to a state.
How this compares
Compared with U.S. House campaigns in Michigan, 2022 cycle: 25 campaigns with a complete Federal Election Commission record for the cycle. This is a position in that group, not a score, a grade, or a judgement about the campaign.
Total receipts
Everything the authorized campaign committee took in for this cycle, including contributions, loans, and transfers.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| This campaign | $3,073,021 |
| Lowest in the cohort | $4,862 |
| 25th percentile | $1,226,165 |
| Median | $2,197,544 |
| 75th percentile | $3,806,548 |
| Highest in the cohort | $9,974,584 |
| Campaigns counted | 25 |
15 of the 25 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 60th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.
Share of receipts from political committees
Direct contributions from PACs and other political committees as a share of total receipts. Campaigns reporting no receipts at all have no share and are left out of this measure.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| This campaign | 52.6% |
| Lowest in the cohort | 0.0% |
| 25th percentile | 3.7% |
| Median | 16.6% |
| 75th percentile | 39.9% |
| Highest in the cohort | 71.0% |
| Campaigns counted | 25 |
23 of the 25 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 92th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.
Cash on hand
The balance reported at the end of the coverage period. Campaigns report at different times, so this compares balances as of each campaign's own coverage end.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| This campaign | $101,469 |
| Lowest in the cohort | $24 |
| 25th percentile | $6,983 |
| Median | $101,469 |
| 75th percentile | $506,171 |
| Highest in the cohort | $5,065,538 |
| Campaigns counted | 25 |
12 of the 25 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 48th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.
Outside spending supporting
Independent expenditures by other organizations supporting the candidate. This money was never received or controlled by the campaign.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| This campaign | $86,101 |
| Lowest in the cohort | $0 |
| 25th percentile | $0 |
| Median | $5,343 |
| 75th percentile | $787,445 |
| Highest in the cohort | $6,797,186 |
| Campaigns counted | 25 |
16 of the 25 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 64th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.
Outside spending opposing
Independent expenditures by other organizations opposing the candidate, not coordinated with any campaign.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| This campaign | $0 |
| Lowest in the cohort | $0 |
| 25th percentile | $0 |
| Median | $0 |
| 75th percentile | $140,833 |
| Highest in the cohort | $10,820,548 |
| Campaigns counted | 25 |
0 of the 25 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 0th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.
Every comparison is drawn from one two-year cycle and one office. Only campaigns whose FEC record for that cycle is complete are counted; the rest are reported beside the cohort and are never counted as zero. One authorized committee is counted once however many candidacies report it, so where a candidate's committees are all reported by another FEC record, that record supplies the figures for both. A campaign is never compared with another cycle, with a career total, or with a candidate for a different office.
What these numbers mean
- Receipts are not the same as contributions
- Total receipts include everything the campaign took in, such as contributions, loans, and transfers. Contributions are only the money given by people and committees.
- Direct contributions are not outside spending
- A direct contribution is money received by the campaign's own authorized committee. An independent expenditure is money another organization spent on its own, without coordinating with the campaign. The Federal Election Commission treats these as different activities, and so does this page.
- The organizations named here are political committees
- Direct rankings count what one political committee gave to a campaign; outside-spending rankings count what a committee spent independently. A separate conduit section groups individual contributions only when the campaign's memo record supplies a registered conduit committee's FEC ID. It never attributes donors to employers or interest groups, and it never exposes contributor names. Sites using broader attribution rules may therefore report different organization totals.
- A cycle may be only partly reported
- Filings arrive throughout a two-year cycle. A current cycle shows only what has been filed and processed through the coverage date shown above, so it is not comparable with a finished cycle.
- This view is cycle specific
- It covers the 2022 two-year cycle only.
Source: Federal Election Commission ↗. MyRepTracker ingests FEC records directly and does not add its own influence, risk, or corruption score.