Home Maine Elections 2026 Matt Dunlap

Matt Dunlap

Democratic candidate · 2026 general election · Maine

MD

Matt Dunlap

Democratic

Races

Campaign finance

FEC data through Jun 30, 2026. Covering the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Possibly out of date. last refreshed 2026-08-20

The 2026 cycle at a glance

Total receipts
$1,205,432
Everything the campaign took in
Individual contributions
$1,181,075
Itemized and unitemized split not reported
PAC and other committees
$13,500
Received from political committees
Campaign spending
$976,783
Total disbursements
Cash on hand
$228,649
At the end of the reporting period

Where the money came from

These categories divide total receipts of $1,205,432 exactly once, so they add back up to the reported total.

Receipts by funding category for the 2026 cycle
SourceAmountShare of receipts
Individual contributions$1,181,07598.0%
PAC and other committee contributions$13,5001.1%
Party committee contributions$00.0%
Candidate self-funding$00.0%
Loans$10,0000.8%
Other receipts, including transfers$8570.1%
Total receipts$1,205,432100%

Financial position

Cash, debt, refunds, loans, and transfers as reported through Jun 30, 2026 for the 2026 cycle. These are factual reported values, not a judgement about whether a campaign is healthy, viable, or strong. Independent expenditures are never added to or subtracted from any of them: that money was never the campaign's.

Reported financial position for the 2026 cycle
MeasureAmount
Cash on hand at coverage end$228,649
Debts and obligations owed by the committee$0
Debts and obligations owed to the committeeNot reported
Contributions refunded to individuals$5,330
Contributions refunded to committees$0
Transfers received from other authorized committeesAlready raised money moving between the candidate's own committees, not new fundraising.$0
Transfers made to other authorized committees$0
Repayments of candidate loans$10,000
Repayments of other loans$0

Calculated from the reported values

Each row below is arithmetic MyRepTracker performed on the values above. Where the FEC published the figure itself, the row says so and no calculation was made.

Values calculated from the reported financial position, with the formula for each
MeasureAmountHow it was produced
Contributions net of refunds$1,189,245Calculated as individual + committee + party + candidate contributions, minus contributions refunded to individuals and committees.
Operating expenditures net of offsetsNot reportedAn input this calculation needs is not published by the source behind this record.
Outstanding candidate loans$0Calculated as loans received from the candidate minus repayments of those loans.
Other outstanding loans$0Calculated as other loans received minus repayments of those loans.
Total contributions refunded$5,330Calculated as refunds to individuals plus refunds to committees.

Change since the previous filing

Both columns come from committee C00922377, so the two periods are comparable. A change is the difference between what 12P 2026 reported and what Q2 2026 reported, and the direction is stated in words rather than shown only as a sign. 12P 2026 reported through May 20, 2026 and Q2 2026 through Jun 30, 2026.

Financial position at the two most recent controlling filings of committee C00922377
Measure12P 2026Reported through May 20, 2026Q2 2026Reported through Jun 30, 2026Change
Cash on hand at period end$93,488$228,649Up $135,161
Debts owed by the committee$0$0No change
Contribution refunds in the period$1,735$1,173Down $562

Cash compared with one period's spending

Cash on hand of $228,649 set beside the $137,789 this campaign spent during Q2 2026, through Jun 30, 2026, which is 1.7 times that period's spending. This is a ratio between two reported numbers over one named period. It is not a forecast of how long the money will last, and campaigns do not spend evenly across a cycle.

Outside spending

Independent expenditures are spending by other organizations that is not coordinated with the campaign. This money was never received or controlled by Matt Dunlap. Supporting and opposing spending are kept apart rather than combined into one number, and neither is added to campaign receipts.

Spent supporting

$342,259
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

Spent opposing

$0
Independent expenditures in the 2026 cycle

What the money was spent on

These spending categories were produced by taxonomy spend-1.2 and the current rules are spend-1.3, so they are withheld until this record is refreshed.

Political committees that contributed directly

Money received by the authorized campaign committee from PACs and other political committees. This is not outside spending.

This total will usually differ from the PAC figure in the summary above. The summary is what the campaign reported receiving in total; this ranking adds up the individual contributions that were itemized, which is a different record made at a different time. Neither is a correction of the other, and the gap is not an error in either one.

Top 5 of 6 shown $25,733 total · $24,233 shown here

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Aug 16, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Political committees ranked by direct contributions
RankCommitteeAmountShareTransactionsLast activity
1ZINC COLLECTIVE PAC C00679191$12,23347.5%5Jun 25, 2026
2FREE AND FAIR DEMOCRACY PAC C00717728$5,00019.4%1Dec 31, 2025
3NATIONAL NURSES UNITED PAC - A FUND FOR A HEALTHY AMERICA C00446237$3,00011.7%1Mar 20, 2026
4PINGREE FOR CONGRESS C00433391$2,0007.8%1Jun 23, 2026
5SARA GIDEON FOR MAINE C00709899$2,0007.8%1May 6, 2026
Show the complete list of 6 committees →

Organizations spending independently

Supporting Matt Dunlap

All 2 shown $342,259 total

Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Aug 16, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.

Organizations ranked by independent spending supporting this candidate
RankCommitteeAmountShareTransactionsLast activity
1REAL CHANGE PAC C00950345$291,65385.2%5Jun 24, 2026
2National Nurses United for Patient Protection C00490375$50,60614.8%2May 14, 2026

Opposing Matt Dunlap

No opposing independent expenditures are reported for this cycle.

What that outside spending purchased

Each independent expenditure carries a short description the spending committee wrote, and these categories are those descriptions sorted under taxonomy outside-1.0. Spending supporting Matt Dunlap and spending opposing them are broken down separately and never combined, and every share below is a share of that one direction's total.

The largest category is usually "Advertising, medium not specified". That is not a leftover: it is spending the committee described only as a media buy or as advertising, without saying whether it aired on television, ran online, or arrived in the mail. MyRepTracker reports what was filed rather than assigning it a medium.

Supporting Matt Dunlap

Independent spending supporting this candidate, by reported purpose for the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
PurposeAmount% ShareTransactions
Advertising, medium not specified Reported as a media buy or as advertising, with no medium named. $286,65383.8%3
Direct mail $50,60614.8%2
Phone calls and text messages $5,0001.5%2
Classified$342,259100.0%
Unclassified filing descriptions$00.0%
Total independent spending$342,259100%7

Opposing Matt Dunlap

No independent expenditures in this direction are reported for this cycle.

Who the committees behind this money were

Every committee here is placed by the registration it filed with the FEC for the 2026 cycle: its designation, its committee type, and the organizational form it reported. That is the FEC's own record and involves no judgement by MyRepTracker, so this covers every itemized dollar. A committee's registration can change between cycles, and each cycle is judged by its own.

Contributed to Matt Dunlap

Committees itemized $25,733 in contributions to this campaign.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committeeAmount% ShareCommitteesTransactions
Non-connected committees $17,23367.0%26
Other candidates' committees $4,00015.5%22
Labor union PACs $3,00011.7%11
Leadership PACs $1,5005.8%11
Itemized total for this direction$25,733

Spent supporting Matt Dunlap

Committees itemized $342,259 in independent spending supporting Matt Dunlap.

Independent spenders supporting this candidate, grouped by who the FEC says runs them in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
Kind of committeeAmount% ShareCommitteesTransactions
Non-connected committees $342,259100.0%27
Itemized total for this direction$342,259

What interests those committees advance

The FEC publishes no industry or interest field, so unlike the section above this one is a claim MyRepTracker makes. A committee is placed here only when there is a document behind the claim that a reader can open: its own statement of organization, its own published mission statement, or a named third party. Every assignment carries that document on the committee's own page. A committee's name is never evidence of anything.

Categorized is not the same as reviewed. Most of these sectors were assigned by machine from the committee's own filing rather than read by a person. Each committee's own page says which of the two its assignment is, and names the document behind it either way.

Coverage is partial on purpose, and the part that is not covered is shown at full size rather than left out. Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees are excluded outright: their giving is an officeholder's or a party's decision, so no interest label describes it. Categories are taxonomy interest-1.7.

Contributed to Matt Dunlap

Committees itemized $25,733 in contributions to this campaign. $5,500 of that came from leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees, which are not interest groups. Of the remaining $20,233, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $3,000 and committees not yet categorized account for $17,233.

Political committees contributing to this campaign, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
InterestAmount% ShareCommitteesTransactions
Nurses and nursing specialties Health $3,00014.8%11
Committees not yet categorized $17,23385.2%26
Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees Not part of the base the shares beside it are taken over. $5,500Not applicable33
Base the shares are taken over$20,233100%
Itemized total for this direction$25,733

Spent supporting Matt Dunlap

Committees itemized $342,259 in independent spending supporting Matt Dunlap. Of that, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $50,606 and committees not yet categorized account for $291,653.

Independent spenders supporting this candidate, grouped by the interest they are categorized as advancing in the 2026 cycle, ranked by amount
InterestAmount% ShareCommitteesTransactions
Nurses and nursing specialties Health $50,60614.8%12
Committees not yet categorized $291,65385.2%15
Base the shares are taken over$342,259100%
Itemized total for this direction$342,259

Last-minute contributions reported before an election

In the days just before an election, a campaign must tell the FEC within 48 hours about any contribution or loan of $1,000 or more. These notices arrive faster than the regular reporting schedule, and the same money is reported again in the report covering those days. Nothing here is added to receipts: it is a preview of money the ordinary reports will carry, not money beside them.

Reported on notices

$3,000
Across 3 notices, received May 21, 2026 to Jun 4, 2026

Still only provisional

$0
Every notice is now covered by a regular report

The most recent notice was filed on Jun 6, 2026. A notice stops being the only record of its money once a regular report covers the same days; those are marked reconciled below and the amounts appear in Matt Dunlap's reported totals through the ordinary schedule.

48-hour notices filed for the 2026 cycle, newest first
FiledAmountEntriesCoversStateFiling
Jun 6, 2026$1,0001Jun 4 to Jun 4, 2026Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
May 29, 2026$1,0001May 27 to May 27, 2026Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗
May 23, 2026$1,0001May 21 to May 21, 2026Covered by a regular reportFEC filing ↗

Where the individual money was reported from

Contributions from individuals that the campaign itemized, grouped by the state each contributor gave as their address. Contributions of $200 or less in aggregate are not itemized and carry no address, so they are not here at all. These places account for $534,241 of the $1,181,075 this campaign reported from individuals and from transfers by its other authorized committees, across 2,680 itemized contributions.

From Maine

$336,860
63.1% of the itemized money that has a place

From everywhere else

$197,381
36.9% of the itemized money that has a place

Money from outside Maine is not money from outside the country, and neither figure is evidence that anything unlawful happened. People may contribute to campaigns in states they do not live in, and United States citizens living abroad may contribute at all.

What kind of place it came from

Itemized individual contributions by kind of place, 2026 cycle
Kind of placeAmountContributionsShare
States and the District of ColumbiaContributors who gave an address in one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia.$534,2412,680100.0%

Places, largest first

Top 10 of 44 places shown as bars. Every place is in the table below.

  • Maine this campaign's state $336,860
  • California $61,315
  • New York $14,912
  • Massachusetts $12,978
  • Florida $12,716
  • Virginia $10,154
  • Minnesota $9,798
  • Nevada $7,270
  • New Hampshire $7,009
  • District of Columbia $5,768
Every place with itemized individual contributions reported for the 2026 cycle
PlaceAmountContributionsShare
Maine this campaign's state$336,8601,30663.1%
California$61,31526711.5%
New York$14,912462.8%
Massachusetts$12,9781202.4%
Florida$12,716962.4%
Virginia$10,154231.9%
Minnesota$9,798221.8%
Nevada$7,27061.4%
New Hampshire$7,0091761.3%
District of Columbia$5,768211.1%
Texas$4,7461270.9%
Maryland$4,740450.9%
Ohio$4,70040.9%
South Carolina$3,880130.7%
Connecticut$3,65070.7%
Illinois$3,465300.6%
Washington$3,400320.6%
Pennsylvania$3,179340.6%
New Jersey$3,072210.6%
Colorado$2,884380.5%
North Carolina$2,340220.4%
Vermont$1,725130.3%
Wisconsin$1,630220.3%
Missouri$1,425120.3%
Georgia$1,400250.3%
Michigan$1,303330.2%
Arizona$1,112230.2%
Tennessee$83570.2%
Oregon$707210.1%
Rhode Island$681160.1%
Idaho$61550.1%
Delaware$56030.1%
Indiana$53750.1%
Alabama$51030.1%
North Dakota$40020.1%
South Dakota$40040.1%
New Mexico$365120.1%
Kentucky$27570.1%
Louisiana$27520.1%
Alaska$2501<0.1%
Wyoming$2501<0.1%
Montana$1305<0.1%
Iowa$101<0.1%
Utah$101<0.1%
Reported with a place$534,2412,680100%

Contributions are transactions, not people: one contributor giving every month is counted once for each contribution. No contributor's name, address, employer, or occupation is stored or shown anywhere on this site.

How this compares

Compared with U.S. House campaigns in Maine, 2026 cycle: 12 campaigns with a complete Federal Election Commission record for the cycle, out of 14 on file. This is a position in that group, not a score, a grade, or a judgement about the campaign.

Total receipts

Everything the authorized campaign committee took in for this cycle, including contributions, loans, and transfers.

  • This campaign $1,205,432
  • Cohort median $47,866
Total receipts for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Maine, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$1,205,432
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$600
Median$47,866
75th percentile$664,203
Highest in the cohort$2,582,580
Campaigns counted12

9 of the 12 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 75th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Share of receipts from political committees

Direct contributions from PACs and other political committees as a share of total receipts. Campaigns reporting no receipts at all have no share and are left out of this measure.

  • This campaign 1.1%
  • Cohort median 10.1%
Share of receipts from political committees for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Maine, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign1.1%
Lowest in the cohort0.0%
25th percentile0.0%
Median10.1%
75th percentile15.7%
Highest in the cohort55.2%
Campaigns counted10

3 of the 10 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 30th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Cash on hand

The balance reported at the end of the coverage period. Campaigns report at different times, so this compares balances as of each campaign's own coverage end.

  • This campaign $228,649
  • Cohort median $12,458
Cash on hand for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Maine, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$228,649
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$12,458
75th percentile$228,649
Highest in the cohort$1,685,711
Campaigns counted12

8 of the 12 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 67th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending supporting

Independent expenditures by other organizations supporting the candidate. This money was never received or controlled by the campaign.

  • This campaign $342,259
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending supporting for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Maine, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$342,259
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$1,376,861
Campaigns counted12

10 of the 12 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 83th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

Outside spending opposing

Independent expenditures by other organizations opposing the candidate, not coordinated with any campaign.

  • This campaign $0
  • Cohort median $0
Outside spending opposing for this campaign and for U.S. House campaigns in Maine, 2026 cycle
MeasureValue
This campaign$0
Lowest in the cohort$0
25th percentile$0
Median$0
75th percentile$0
Highest in the cohort$532,479
Campaigns counted12

0 of the 12 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 0th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.

  • 2 of the 14 campaigns on file for this cohort have no complete record for the cycle and are not counted in any figure here.

Every comparison is drawn from one two-year cycle and one office. Only campaigns whose FEC record for that cycle is complete are counted; the rest are reported beside the cohort and are never counted as zero. One authorized committee is counted once however many candidacies report it, so where a candidate's committees are all reported by another FEC record, that record supplies the figures for both. A campaign is never compared with another cycle, with a career total, or with a candidate for a different office.

What these numbers mean

Receipts are not the same as contributions
Total receipts include everything the campaign took in, such as contributions, loans, and transfers. Contributions are only the money given by people and committees.
Direct contributions are not outside spending
A direct contribution is money received by the campaign's own authorized committee. An independent expenditure is money another organization spent on its own, without coordinating with the campaign. The Federal Election Commission treats these as different activities, and so does this page.
The organizations named here are political committees
Direct rankings count what one political committee gave to a campaign; outside-spending rankings count what a committee spent independently. A separate conduit section groups individual contributions only when the campaign's memo record supplies a registered conduit committee's FEC ID. It never attributes donors to employers or interest groups, and it never exposes contributor names. Sites using broader attribution rules may therefore report different organization totals.
A cycle may be only partly reported
Filings arrive throughout a two-year cycle. A current cycle shows only what has been filed and processed through the coverage date shown above, so it is not comparable with a finished cycle.
This view is cycle specific
It covers the 2026 two-year cycle only.

Source: Federal Election Commission ↗. MyRepTracker ingests FEC records directly and does not add its own influence, risk, or corruption score.