Jay Chen
Democratic candidate · 2022 general election · California
Jay Chen
Democratic
Races
- U.S. U.S. House District 45 · challenger
Campaign finance
FEC data through Dec 31, 2022. Covering the 2022 two-year cycle only.
The 2022 cycle at a glance
Where the money came from
These categories divide total receipts of $5,037,026 exactly once, so they add back up to the reported total.
| Source | Amount | Share of receipts |
|---|---|---|
| Individual contributions | $4,403,704 | 87.4% |
| PAC and other committee contributions | $498,506 | 9.9% |
| Party committee contributions | $15,389 | 0.3% |
| Candidate self-funding | $0 | 0.0% |
| Loans | $0 | 0.0% |
| Other receipts, including transfers | $119,426 | 2.4% |
| Total receipts | $5,037,026 | 100% |
Financial position
Cash, debt, refunds, loans, and transfers as reported through Dec 31, 2022 for the 2022 cycle. These are factual reported values, not a judgement about whether a campaign is healthy, viable, or strong. Independent expenditures are never added to or subtracted from any of them: that money was never the campaign's.
| Measure | Amount |
|---|---|
| Cash on hand at coverage end | $10,014 |
| Debts and obligations owed by the committee | $6,945 |
| Debts and obligations owed to the committee | Not reported |
| Contributions refunded to individuals | $28,142 |
| Contributions refunded to committees | $500 |
| Transfers received from other authorized committeesAlready raised money moving between the candidate's own committees, not new fundraising. | $112,533 |
| Transfers made to other authorized committees | $0 |
| Repayments of candidate loans | $0 |
| Repayments of other loans | $0 |
Calculated from the reported values
Each row below is arithmetic MyRepTracker performed on the values above. Where the FEC published the figure itself, the row says so and no calculation was made.
| Measure | Amount | How it was produced |
|---|---|---|
| Contributions net of refunds | $4,888,958 | Calculated as individual + committee + party + candidate contributions, minus contributions refunded to individuals and committees. |
| Operating expenditures net of offsets | Not reported | An input this calculation needs is not published by the source behind this record. |
| Outstanding candidate loans | $0 | Calculated as loans received from the candidate minus repayments of those loans. |
| Other outstanding loans | $0 | Calculated as other loans received minus repayments of those loans. |
| Total contributions refunded | $28,642 | Calculated as refunds to individuals plus refunds to committees. |
Change since the previous filing
Both columns come from committee C00665695, so the two periods are comparable. A change is the difference between what 30G 2022 reported and what YE 2022 reported, and the direction is stated in words rather than shown only as a sign. 30G 2022 reported through Nov 28, 2022 and YE 2022 through Dec 31, 2022.
| Measure | 30G 2022Reported through Nov 28, 2022 | YE 2022Reported through Dec 31, 2022 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cash on hand at period end | $34,404 | $10,014 | Down $24,389 |
| Debts owed by the committee | $3,353 | $6,945 | Up $3,591 |
| Contribution refunds in the period | $4,368 | $2,201 | Down $2,167 |
Cash compared with one period's spending
Cash on hand of $10,014 set beside the $26,390 this campaign spent during YE 2022, through Dec 31, 2022, which is 0.4 times that period's spending. This is a ratio between two reported numbers over one named period. It is not a forecast of how long the money will last, and campaigns do not spend evenly across a cycle.
Outside spending
Independent expenditures are spending by other organizations that is not coordinated with the campaign. This money was never received or controlled by Jay Chen. Supporting and opposing spending are kept apart rather than combined into one number, and neither is added to campaign receipts.
Spent supporting
Spent opposing
What the money was spent on
Political committees that contributed directly
Money received by the authorized campaign committee from PACs and other political committees. This is not outside spending.
This total will usually differ from the PAC figure in the summary above. The summary is what the campaign reported receiving in total; this ranking adds up the individual contributions that were itemized, which is a different record made at a different time. Neither is a correction of the other, and the gap is not an error in either one.
Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Aug 16, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.
| Rank | Committee | Amount | Share | Transactions | Last activity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF ELECTRICAL WORKERS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE C00027342 | $15,000 | 3.1% | 3 | Nov 4, 2022 |
| 2 | NEW DEMOCRAT COALITION ACTION FUND C00409730 | $12,000 | 2.5% | 8 | Oct 4, 2022 |
| 3 | DCCC C00000935 | $11,889 | 2.5% | 9 | Nov 2, 2022 |
| 4 | CARPENTERS LEGISLATIVE IMPROVEMENT COMMITTEE UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS AND JOINERS C00001016 | $10,000 | 2.1% | 2 | Aug 15, 2022 |
| 5 | MACHINISTS NON PARTISAN POLITICAL LEAGUE OF THE INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS & AEROSPACE WORKERS C00002469 | $10,000 | 2.1% | 2 | Oct 21, 2022 |
Organizations spending independently
Supporting Jay Chen
Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Aug 16, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.
| Rank | Committee | Amount | Share | Transactions | Last activity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Immigrant Power PAC C00750786 | $24,814 | 35.0% | 1 | Oct 14, 2022 |
| 2 | United We Can C00523621 | $20,703 | 29.2% | 11 | Nov 2, 2022 |
| 3 | PIVOT Victory Fund C00826024 | $13,943 | 19.7% | 6 | Nov 4, 2022 |
| 4 | Working America C90011156 | $8,029 | 11.3% | 3 | Oct 29, 2022 |
| 5 | WOMEN FOR AMERICAN VALUES AND ETHICS POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (A/K/A WAVE PAC) C00635664 | $3,450 | 4.9% | 3 | Nov 1, 2022 |
Opposing Jay Chen
What that outside spending purchased
Each independent expenditure carries a short description the spending committee wrote, and these categories are those descriptions sorted under taxonomy outside-1.0. Spending supporting Jay Chen and spending opposing them are broken down separately and never combined, and every share below is a share of that one direction's total.
The largest category is usually "Advertising, medium not specified". That is not a leftover: it is spending the committee described only as a media buy or as advertising, without saying whether it aired on television, ran online, or arrived in the mail. MyRepTracker reports what was filed rather than assigning it a medium.
Supporting Jay Chen
| Purpose | Amount | % Share | Transactions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unclassified filing descriptions Spending whose reported description could not be placed in the taxonomy. It is counted, not guessed at. | $24,814 | 35.0% | 1 |
| Digital and online advertising | $20,500 | 28.9% | 6 |
| Broadcast, cable, and radio advertising | $9,750 | 13.7% | 6 |
| Direct mail | $8,043 | 11.3% | 2 |
| Advertising, medium not specified Reported as a media buy or as advertising, with no medium named. | $4,337 | 6.1% | 4 |
| Phone calls and text messages | $3,466 | 4.9% | 4 |
| Staff, administration, and overhead | $29 | 0.0% | 1 |
| Classified | $46,125 | 65.0% | |
| Unclassified filing descriptions | $24,814 | 35.0% | |
| Total independent spending | $70,938 | 100% | 24 |
Opposing Jay Chen
Fundraising channels
Some money arrives through a committee that raised or collected it rather than from a committee that decided to give it. Those committees are listed here instead of among the political committees that contributed, because calling a payment processor or a shared fundraising account a donor would say something the filings do not. None of this is added to, or subtracted from, any total above.
Conduits
A conduit forwards contributions that individuals earmarked for a named candidate. The amounts below come from the receiving campaign's conduit memo records and remain part of its reported individual-contribution total; they are not added to receipts again. MyRepTracker groups only memos carrying a registered conduit committee's FEC ID and does not decode or store contributor names, addresses, employers, occupations, or memo text. The record count is a count of FEC memo records, not donors.
Conduit records shown through Dec 31, 2022 · fetched Aug 20, 2026.
Itemized rows as published by the FEC on Aug 16, 2026. The summary figures above come from the candidate's own reports through the coverage date.
| Rank | Committee | Amount | Share | FEC memo records | Last activity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ACTBLUE C00401224 | $50 | 100.0% | 1 | Sep 19, 2021 |
Who the committees behind this money were
Every committee here is placed by the registration it filed with the FEC for the 2022 cycle: its designation, its committee type, and the organizational form it reported. That is the FEC's own record and involves no judgement by MyRepTracker, so this covers every itemized dollar. A committee's registration can change between cycles, and each cycle is judged by its own.
Contributed to Jay Chen
Committees itemized $482,167 in contributions to this campaign.
| Kind of committee | Amount | % Share | Committees | Transactions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Labor union PACs | $135,500 | 28.1% | 27 | 37 |
| Non-connected committees | $131,145 | 27.2% | 39 | 71 |
| Leadership PACs | $111,501 | 23.1% | 38 | 60 |
| Membership organization PACs | $41,915 | 8.7% | 9 | 18 |
| Other candidates' committees | $38,000 | 7.9% | 23 | 28 |
| Party committees | $20,606 | 4.3% | 4 | 14 |
| Trade association PACs | $2,500 | 0.5% | 1 | 1 |
| Corporate PACs | $1,000 | 0.2% | 1 | 1 |
| Itemized total for this direction | $482,167 |
Spent supporting Jay Chen
Committees itemized $70,938 in independent spending supporting Jay Chen.
| Kind of committee | Amount | % Share | Committees | Transactions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Non-connected committees | $70,938 | 100.0% | 5 | 24 |
| Itemized total for this direction | $70,938 |
What interests those committees advance
The FEC publishes no industry or interest field, so unlike the section above this one is a claim MyRepTracker makes. A committee is placed here only when there is a document behind the claim that a reader can open: its own statement of organization, its own published mission statement, or a named third party. Every assignment carries that document on the committee's own page. A committee's name is never evidence of anything.
Categorized is not the same as reviewed. Most of these sectors were assigned by machine from the committee's own filing rather than read by a person. Each committee's own page says which of the two its assignment is, and names the document behind it either way.
Coverage is partial on purpose, and the part that is not covered is shown at full size rather than left out. Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees are excluded outright: their giving is an officeholder's or a party's decision, so no interest label describes it. Categories are taxonomy interest-1.7.
Contributed to Jay Chen
Committees itemized $482,167 in contributions to this campaign. $170,107 of that came from leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees, which are not interest groups. Of the remaining $312,060, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $169,500 and committees not yet categorized account for $142,560.
| Interest | Amount | % Share | Committees | Transactions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building trades unions Labor | $40,000 | 12.8% | 6 | 10 |
| Industrial unions Labor | $30,000 | 9.6% | 5 | 6 |
| Public sector unions Labor | $22,500 | 7.2% | 5 | 5 |
| Transportation unions Labor | $13,500 | 4.3% | 4 | 6 |
| Pro-Democratic Party Ideological and single-issue | $12,000 | 3.8% | 2 | 4 |
| Health care unions Labor | $10,000 | 3.2% | 1 | 2 |
| Lawyers and law firms Professional services | $10,000 | 3.2% | 1 | 2 |
| Veterans Ideological and single-issue | $10,000 | 3.2% | 1 | 4 |
| Automotive Transportation | $7,000 | 2.2% | 1 | 2 |
| Telecommunications Communications and technology | $5,000 | 1.6% | 1 | 2 |
| Media and entertainment Communications and technology | $3,500 | 1.1% | 2 | 2 |
| Democracy and election reform Ideological and single-issue | $2,000 | 0.6% | 1 | 1 |
| LGBTQ rights Ideological and single-issue | $2,000 | 0.6% | 1 | 2 |
| Commercial banking Finance, insurance, and real estate | $1,000 | 0.3% | 1 | 1 |
| Gun control Ideological and single-issue | $1,000 | 0.3% | 1 | 1 |
| Leadership PACs, party committees, and other candidates' committees Not part of the base the shares beside it are taken over. | $170,107 | Not applicable | 65 | 102 |
| Committees not yet categorized | $142,560 | 45.7% | 44 | 78 |
| Base the shares are taken over | $312,060 | 100% | ||
| Itemized total for this direction | $482,167 |
Spent supporting Jay Chen
Committees itemized $70,938 in independent spending supporting Jay Chen. Of that, committees categorized as advancing an interest account for $8,029 and committees not yet categorized account for $62,909.
| Interest | Amount | % Share | Committees | Transactions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Industrial unions Labor | $8,029 | 11.3% | 1 | 3 |
| Committees not yet categorized | $62,909 | 88.7% | 4 | 21 |
| Base the shares are taken over | $70,938 | 100% | ||
| Itemized total for this direction | $70,938 |
Last-minute contributions reported before an election
In the days just before an election, a campaign must tell the FEC within 48 hours about any contribution or loan of $1,000 or more. These notices arrive faster than the regular reporting schedule, and the same money is reported again in the report covering those days. Nothing here is added to receipts: it is a preview of money the ordinary reports will carry, not money beside them.
Reported on notices
Still only provisional
The most recent notice was filed on Nov 7, 2022. A notice stops being the only record of its money once a regular report covers the same days; those are marked reconciled below and the amounts appear in Jay Chen's reported totals through the ordinary schedule.
| Filed | Amount | Entries | Covers | State | Filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nov 7, 2022 | $2,900 | 1 | Nov 5 to Nov 5, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Nov 6, 2022 | $4,500 | 3 | Nov 4 to Nov 4, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Nov 5, 2022 | $7,000 | 5 | Nov 3 to Nov 3, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Nov 4, 2022 | $5,967 | 3 | Nov 2 to Nov 2, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Nov 2, 2022 | $4,500 | 4 | Oct 31 to Oct 31, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Nov 1, 2022 | $7,000 | 5 | Oct 30 to Oct 30, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Oct 31, 2022 | $3,900 | 2 | Oct 29 to Oct 29, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Oct 30, 2022 | $20,300 | 9 | Oct 28 to Oct 28, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Oct 29, 2022 | $12,400 | 5 | Oct 27 to Oct 27, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
| Oct 28, 2022 amendment | $21,200 | 9 | Oct 21 to Oct 21, 2022 | Covered by a regular report | FEC filing ↗ |
The 10 most recent notices of 31 are listed. The amount and count above cover all of them.
Where the individual money was reported from
Contributions from individuals that the campaign itemized, grouped by the state each contributor gave as their address. Contributions of $200 or less in aggregate are not itemized and carry no address, so they are not here at all. These places account for $3,270,738 of the $4,516,237 this campaign reported from individuals and from transfers by its other authorized committees, across 8,620 itemized contributions.
From California
From everywhere else
Money from outside California is not money from outside the country, and neither figure is evidence that anything unlawful happened. People may contribute to campaigns in states they do not live in, and United States citizens living abroad may contribute at all.
What kind of place it came from
| Kind of place | Amount | Contributions | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| States and the District of ColumbiaContributors who gave an address in one of the fifty states or the District of Columbia. | $3,270,738 | 8,620 | 100.0% |
Places, largest first
Top 10 of 43 places shown as bars. Every place is in the table below.
| Place | Amount | Contributions | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| California this campaign's state | $2,440,806 | 7,036 | 74.6% |
| New York | $289,562 | 287 | 8.9% |
| Massachusetts | $107,900 | 209 | 3.3% |
| Washington | $47,465 | 134 | 1.5% |
| Maryland | $34,367 | 139 | 1.1% |
| Virginia | $32,478 | 81 | 1.0% |
| Texas | $30,687 | 74 | 0.9% |
| New Jersey | $28,850 | 52 | 0.9% |
| District of Columbia | $28,516 | 57 | 0.9% |
| Oregon | $27,112 | 50 | 0.8% |
| Connecticut | $23,231 | 19 | 0.7% |
| Illinois | $19,952 | 54 | 0.6% |
| North Carolina | $16,717 | 16 | 0.5% |
| Colorado | $15,805 | 27 | 0.5% |
| Tennessee | $12,890 | 29 | 0.4% |
| Pennsylvania | $12,868 | 43 | 0.4% |
| Oklahoma | $12,600 | 5 | 0.4% |
| Ohio | $11,042 | 25 | 0.3% |
| Florida | $10,421 | 17 | 0.3% |
| Kentucky | $8,550 | 7 | 0.3% |
| New Mexico | $7,300 | 10 | 0.2% |
| Wyoming | $6,300 | 3 | 0.2% |
| Nevada | $6,220 | 17 | 0.2% |
| Hawaii | $5,850 | 17 | 0.2% |
| Arizona | $3,888 | 27 | 0.1% |
| Utah | $3,629 | 9 | 0.1% |
| Michigan | $2,925 | 17 | 0.1% |
| Alaska | $2,900 | 1 | 0.1% |
| New Hampshire | $2,900 | 1 | 0.1% |
| Minnesota | $2,480 | 11 | 0.1% |
| Georgia | $2,270 | 8 | 0.1% |
| Delaware | $2,211 | 7 | 0.1% |
| Missouri | $2,092 | 7 | 0.1% |
| Idaho | $2,022 | 36 | 0.1% |
| Alabama | $1,580 | 33 | <0.1% |
| West Virginia | $1,300 | 13 | <0.1% |
| Indiana | $1,160 | 19 | <0.1% |
| Wisconsin | $670 | 5 | <0.1% |
| Rhode Island | $535 | 2 | <0.1% |
| Louisiana | $297 | 4 | <0.1% |
| Iowa | $250 | 1 | <0.1% |
| South Dakota | $90 | 6 | <0.1% |
| Maine | $50 | 5 | <0.1% |
| Reported with a place | $3,270,738 | 8,620 | 100% |
Contributions are transactions, not people: one contributor giving every month is counted once for each contribution. No contributor's name, address, employer, or occupation is stored or shown anywhere on this site.
How this compares
Compared with U.S. House campaigns in California, 2022 cycle: 120 campaigns with a complete Federal Election Commission record for the cycle. This is a position in that group, not a score, a grade, or a judgement about the campaign.
Total receipts
Everything the authorized campaign committee took in for this cycle, including contributions, loans, and transfers.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| This campaign | $5,037,026 |
| Lowest in the cohort | $0 |
| 25th percentile | $116,486 |
| Median | $1,024,853 |
| 75th percentile | $2,390,121 |
| Highest in the cohort | $28,295,640 |
| Campaigns counted | 120 |
108 of the 120 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 90th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.
Share of receipts from political committees
Direct contributions from PACs and other political committees as a share of total receipts. Campaigns reporting no receipts at all have no share and are left out of this measure.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| This campaign | 9.9% |
| Lowest in the cohort | 0.0% |
| 25th percentile | 1.8% |
| Median | 10.4% |
| 75th percentile | 34.1% |
| Highest in the cohort | 100.0% |
| Campaigns counted | 118 |
56 of the 118 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 47th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.
Cash on hand
The balance reported at the end of the coverage period. Campaigns report at different times, so this compares balances as of each campaign's own coverage end.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| This campaign | $10,014 |
| Lowest in the cohort | -$1,109 |
| 25th percentile | $2,394 |
| Median | $44,893 |
| 75th percentile | $456,537 |
| Highest in the cohort | $21,022,960 |
| Campaigns counted | 120 |
41 of the 120 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 34th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.
Outside spending supporting
Independent expenditures by other organizations supporting the candidate. This money was never received or controlled by the campaign.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| This campaign | $70,938 |
| Lowest in the cohort | $0 |
| 25th percentile | $0 |
| Median | $0 |
| 75th percentile | $12,425 |
| Highest in the cohort | $3,123,125 |
| Campaigns counted | 120 |
96 of the 120 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 80th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.
Outside spending opposing
Independent expenditures by other organizations opposing the candidate, not coordinated with any campaign.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| This campaign | $0 |
| Lowest in the cohort | $0 |
| 25th percentile | $0 |
| Median | $0 |
| 75th percentile | $0 |
| Highest in the cohort | $8,037,240 |
| Campaigns counted | 120 |
0 of the 120 campaigns counted reported less than this one, which puts it at the 0th percentile of the cohort. Campaigns reporting the same value sit at the same position.
Every comparison is drawn from one two-year cycle and one office. Only campaigns whose FEC record for that cycle is complete are counted; the rest are reported beside the cohort and are never counted as zero. One authorized committee is counted once however many candidacies report it, so where a candidate's committees are all reported by another FEC record, that record supplies the figures for both. A campaign is never compared with another cycle, with a career total, or with a candidate for a different office.
What these numbers mean
- Receipts are not the same as contributions
- Total receipts include everything the campaign took in, such as contributions, loans, and transfers. Contributions are only the money given by people and committees.
- Direct contributions are not outside spending
- A direct contribution is money received by the campaign's own authorized committee. An independent expenditure is money another organization spent on its own, without coordinating with the campaign. The Federal Election Commission treats these as different activities, and so does this page.
- The organizations named here are political committees
- Direct rankings count what one political committee gave to a campaign; outside-spending rankings count what a committee spent independently. A separate conduit section groups individual contributions only when the campaign's memo record supplies a registered conduit committee's FEC ID. It never attributes donors to employers or interest groups, and it never exposes contributor names. Sites using broader attribution rules may therefore report different organization totals.
- A cycle may be only partly reported
- Filings arrive throughout a two-year cycle. A current cycle shows only what has been filed and processed through the coverage date shown above, so it is not comparable with a finished cycle.
- This view is cycle specific
- It covers the 2022 two-year cycle only.
Source: Federal Election Commission ↗. MyRepTracker ingests FEC records directly and does not add its own influence, risk, or corruption score.